Going Home : Survivalist

  • by A. American
  • Narrated by Duke Fontaine
  • Series: Survivalist
  • 13 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If society collapsed, could you survive?
When Morgan Carter's car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: The country's power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored - if it ever will be.
An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back. During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters - and he'll do whatever it takes to make that happen.
Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fun book can't wait for more!

My new favorite post apocalypse series! With a good blend of action, plot development and practical prepping information “Going Home” is a fun read which draws you in and keeps you interested from start to finish. Although it’s not, the writing made me thing of more of a journal being told (mostly) through the eyes of the main character Morgan. It has a great bit of detail and takes you through his thought process making it easy to get engrossed in the story. The characters are a bit static and the author’s ideology comes through loud and clear, but the story is just too good. Also, I’d like to give a big thanks to the author for writing a series where the story continues from book to book but makes each one stand alone! I am certainly going on to the next book but with this one being wrapped up so nicely I don’t feel as if I’m being made to read the next book to get the whole story!

The narration was very good!
Read full review

- Drew (@drewsant)

A page turner, if. . .

Where does Going Home rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

If audio books had pages, this entire series would be a page turner. I enjoy TEOTWAWKI themed books because they tend to have lots of action plus I like to see/hear how different authors view life on the other side of civilization. The "Going Home" series is one of the best I've read.


What did you like best about this story?

A. American uses the TEOTWAWKI standard device, an EMP (Electro Magnetic Pulse) to usher in the end of civilization. This quickly gets us to the meat of the story. He introduces plenty of main characters, often developing multiple story lines so we can see each character develop. I think the author does an excellent job of painting what the other side of civilization will look like (since we agree so often, he must be a genius, right?). He weaves in survival tips and strategies, some of which make sense, some I could argue with. It is important to note that nobody really knows how people will react. Any theory posited by an author should be used as a launching point for your own thought exploration. Hence, the reason I enjoy reading this genre.


Which character – as performed by Duke Fontaine – was your favorite?

The retired Army Sargent First Class is my favorite character. His role would be useless without his well selected team but together they make a great story. NOTE: I cannot judge the reader's performance because I listen in a fast forward mode which speeds up the beat and changes the reader's pitch etc.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Re: Listening in one sitting. . . .not only did I panic when my battery needed charging, I loaded the other two books on my player so I wouldn't have to stop!


Read full review

- R. Hilton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-28-2013
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio