Gears of War : Gears of War

  • by Karen Traviss
  • Narrated by David Colacci
  • Series: Gears of War
  • 11 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As kids, the three of them were inseparable; as soldiers, they were torn apart. Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago fought alongside Dom's elder brother Carlos at Aspho Fields in the epic battle that changed the course of the Pendulum Wars. There's a new war to fight now, a war for mankind's very survival. But while the last human stronghold on Sera braces itself for another onslaught from the Locust Horde, ghosts come back to haunt Marcus and Dom. For Marcus - decorated war hero and convicted traitor - the return of an old comrade threatens to dredge up an agonizing secret he has sworn to keep. As the beleaguered Gears of the Coalition of Ordered Governments take a last stand to save mankind from extermination, the harrowing decisions made at Aspho Fields have to be relived and made again. Marcus and Dom can take anything the Locust Horde throws at them, but will their friendship survive the truth about Carlos Santiago?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A book that fans can't miss

I'm a Gears fan and I can say that now I became a bigger fan. This story is funny, intence and emotional, here you will know why Marcus and Dominic are so close friends. The impersonation of the characters as the way they are in the games is really good and I have to say the voice he uses for Bernie is outstanding, is my favorite. Guys this is a really good book and I can't wait to listen the next one.
Read full review

- Pedro

Add much depth to the game.

Karen Traviss does a terrific job writing as does David Colacci narrating this book.

I played the video game and then found out about the book and got it simply for more background to the story. The only negative point about the book was the bouncing around from present to past, as the listener can become confused.

I can only hope that Mr. Colacci narrates the second book as well, as he did a great job.
Can hardly wait for the next book to come out is Audio Book form.
Read full review

- T. Heidner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2009
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio