Regular price: $20.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A ship under siege. A world on the brink of civil war. A distraught people seeking a new beginning. A battle weary crew that can barely hold it together.
Even a legend can use a little help from time to time.
The crew of the Aurora, the Karuzari, and the Corinairans must find a way to work together, or else they may all perish.
©2012 Ryk Brown (P)2013 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jean on 05-09-16

Great story

This is book four in the Frontier Series. Aurora is damaged and in need of repair and upgrade. The Aurora is in obit above the planet of Corinair. In the prior book Aurora fought off a Ta’Akar warship that was going to destroy the planet. Most of the action in this episode takes place on the planet and only toward the end does action return to Aurora when a commando group attempts to take control of the ship. Brown uses this episode to introduce us to the legend of Na Tan. The people of Corinair think Nathan is Na Tan.
Brown is continuing to develop his characters and we lose some people and gain some new ones. It is nice to have characters make mistakes unlike some of the super heroes in some books that are always perfect. The book is well written; the plot twists and turns with lots of action. The various groups on the planet are fighting each other until I wanted to yell at them “wake up; work together the Ta ‘Akar will come back”. Brown is a super story teller and I have enjoyed this series so far. Jeffrey Kafer does an excellent job narrating the book.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

By Charles Jackson on 06-18-15

This is not a book

What disappointed you about Freedom's Dawn?

The story is fine. However Audible should refund to anyone who bought chapter 2 &4 ( I cant call them books) Charge for one but not both While I am enjoying the story I will NEVER start another Ryk Bron series or stand alone book because of the pricing

What other book might you compare Freedom's Dawn to and why?

It a space sage. Not as good as theLost fFeet but I am enjoying it

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Freedom's Dawn?

Combine books 1&2 and 3&4

Any additional comments?

I hope breaking story's in to 7 hour chapters and selling as books is not a trend!

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Robert on 06-15-15

A proper ending

The previous releases all felt as they stopped at some arbitrary point in order to allow them to make four releases out of a single long novel. This one ends at an appropriate story point with many story lines moved along and everything ready for the next instalment.

Overall the crew of the Auroa are coping well though the Captain makes odd choices and is pretty much a passive agent for the latter part of the story and makes room for others including a villain to take control of the story.

The story and narration are of the same quality as the previous releases and if you enjoyed them you will enjoy this one.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By N. J. Addley on 09-03-14

Freedoms Keystones

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Yes. This book was my least favourite out of the series.. nearly stopped me from getting the rest. It was too much they Keystone kops farce for me

What could Ryk Brown have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Probably not much. I do like Ryks work and generally manage the necessary suspension of disbelief. This one however i just lost it 20% in.. by 50% i Hated it... it took real work to listen to the rest

Which character – as performed by Jeffrey Kafer – was your favourite?

Vlads my fav chara.. a ruski is much better eng than the too cliched scot.. and without the equally cliched doom doom attitude of the typical tv ruski... eg Ivonova from Babylon 5

Any additional comments?

I wish I could see how this book could be improved but as it was going from.. oh my God can we afford to let anyone on board to hey yes who cares who's arriving just blew my suspension of disbelief. especially irritating compared to the rest of the series

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jas P on 06-29-15

SciFi at its Best, Fantastic Story/Narration

Great Chapter Again, Brilliant Narration.

Again, Jeffrey Kafer is just outstanding with his Narration, bringing the characters to life from the pages so you think that they are with you. He does such a fantastic job of each individual character, not only giving them a voice, but also giving them distinct emotions for the particular situation. Masterful job each and every book.

The book is another amazing chapter in this fantastic saga.
This part is probably slower than some of the others, with less space combat than the others. It does see a lot more political intrigue than the other parts of the story after the events of Part 3, but the crew still have some incredible challenges to face - the crew of the Yamaro aren't defeated yet - and the crew of our Heroic Aurora are in for the bloodiest fight of their lives.

This is a chapter is brilliant, and for fans of the series, should not be missed.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc