Forever Free : The Forever War

  • by Joe Haldeman
  • Narrated by Peter Berkrot
  • Series: The Forever War
  • 6 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From Joe Haldeman, the all-time master of military science fiction, comes the new novel set in the universe of his Hugo and Nebula Award-winning classic The Forever War.
An epic story about war, peace, and the price of freedom, Forever Free reintroduces listeners to William Mandella - who has been living peacefully on the planet called Middle Finger, a refuge for humans who refuse to become part of the group mind known as Man. But after decades of this peace, Mandella and others are tired of living like zoo animals. So they steal a starship - and embark upon a voyage that will forever change their understanding of the universe, and themselves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Go fetch!

The conclusion to the story started in the first two books is far fetched to say the least. Incoherent and diffuse storytelling, leaving me far from engaged. I feel cheated to have such a cheap conclusion to a trilogy that seemed worth my time.
And what does the title even have to do with the book? It has no relevance or anchor. It is like Joe felt like he had to complete the trilogy for trilogies sake, not because he had a story to finish.

To compound the disappointment the narrator fails to read punctuations right, ending sentences at commas with downward inflection, then reading the second part of the sentence as sort of an afterthought. I can not understand why he would do that. Did not the writer compose his sentences to flow in a certain way? Does the narrator not understand what the function of punctuations is? Highly unprofessional.
Besides that he sucks at voices in dialogue. Often leaving me guessing as to who is speaking, not even sure of the sex of the character.
His voice might have a good tone but he has not mastered narration at all.

Read full review

- Arjen "NaknAKNaKNaK"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-26-2016
  • Publisher: Recorded Books