Fear the Sky : The Fear Saga

  • by Stephen Moss
  • Narrated by R.C. Bray
  • Series: The Fear Saga
  • 20 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Real science in Science Fiction. This is a must read for fans of SF." >(John S. Gertsch, Amazon Reviewer)
Perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton, Iain M. Banks, and Orson Scott Card, Fear the Sky is a hard-hitting sci-fi thriller that will have you looking at the stars in a different way.
In eleven years' time, a million members of an alien race will arrive at Earth. Years before they enter orbit, their approach will be announced by the flare of a thousand flames in the sky, their ships' huge engines burning hard to slow them from the vast speeds needed to cross interstellar space. These foreboding lights will shine in our night sky like new stars, getting ever brighter until they outshine even the sun, casting ominous shadows and banishing the night until they suddenly blink out. Their technology is vastly superior to ours, and they know they cannot possibly lose the coming conflict. But they, like us, have found no answer to the destructive force of the atom, and they have no intention of facing the onslaught of our primitive nuclear arsenal or the devastation it would wreak on the planet they crave. So they have flung out an advance party in front of them, hidden within one of the countless asteroids randomly roaming the void. They do not want us, they want our planet. Their Agents are arriving.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Audible Where Are The Rest?!

I really enjoyed Fear The Sky. The plot is original and character development is so good as we watch a young man turn into a hero through hard work and force of will. I was invested in the series immediately. I knew the author had completed at least three books in the Fear Series so I felt comfortable with my investment. (waiting for a good series to publish the next one is something I try to avoid!)
Yet now as I go to get the other two bestselling books in Mr. Moss's series I discover they are not available through Audible!? Each book is a best-seller on it's own and several years old. The narrator is putting our new works. The thing is it is not just one series. I myself have the same issue with three GREAT series Audible starts then dropped.
I am very eager to continue : Trevor H. Cooley's, Bowl of Souls series is completed through book 8 yet only 3 are available on Audible, each VERY successful and Author Sara King has a popular bestselling series thar Audible only taped one of.
Still, this book deserves 5 stars and is worth the cost.
Beware when you're looking for a good series, just because this series has been completed and the narrator is working do not assume Audible has picked up
Read full review

- J. Hart "Keep The Faith"

Good, Hard Sci-Fi

Overall I was very impressed with this listen. The plot clipped along and was rather engaging, keeping my brain occupied for the duration. Easy to listen to at 3x. As with most foundational works for a trilogy or saga, there are major aspects of character building and stage setting. That being said, there was clearly a three act plot line with an initial resolution; this is something many works in similar circumstance fail to achieve.

Yes, as with most books, there were some plot holes. The sweeping nature of the book left some characters that were (are) primed to be *major* players slightly two dimensional after a very heavy set up. Further, there are some derivative scene settings in the first 3 or 4 hours. That being said, I have a great deal of faith that the saga, when taken as a whole, will be deemed extremely effective and high quality.

I can say this with utmost honesty- I am saddened that I have to wait to listen to the next book in the saga; that is a very good sign for me and my feelings about a book. Bray did a fantastic job with his narration as always; he is fast becoming my favorite narrator.

Worth a credit and your time. High marks.
Read full review

- Charles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-03-2015
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing