Fatherland

  • by Robert Harris
  • Narrated by Michael Jayston
  • 11 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II - for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle.
Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's 75th birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from US president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb.
But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth - a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.

More

What the Critics Say

"A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense...Fatherland easily transcends convention." (The Washington Post)
"Ingenious...a triumph...suspenseful and elegant." (San Francisco Chronicle)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-23-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audio