Fatherland

  • by Robert Harris
  • Narrated by Michael Jayston
  • 11 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II - for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle.
Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's 75th birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from US president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb.
But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth - a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.

More

What the Critics Say

"A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense...Fatherland easily transcends convention." (The Washington Post)
"Ingenious...a triumph...suspenseful and elegant." (San Francisco Chronicle)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

1960's Nazi Germany comes alive

The world created by Robert Harris is wholly believable and the inclusion of historical figures, locations, newspapers, streets, etc. make it all the more believable. I thought the narration by Michael Jayston was superb and seemed to give Xavier March the tone and manner I would have expected from a forty-something divorced, disillusioned cop who has lived under Nazi oppression his entire life. The story is well paced and keeps you guessing. If you are into alternate history, KGB type thrillers, "who done it" murder mysteries, or intrigues surrounding the Third Reich, then this book is for you. I'm an avid reader of all things World War II and it was very interesting, yet easily envisioned, to temporarily live in a world of 1960's Nazi Germany.
Read full review

- Daniel Black

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-23-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audio