Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II - for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle.
Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's 75th birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from US president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb.
But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth - a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.
©2017 Robert Harris (P)2017 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense... Fatherland easily transcends convention." ( The Washington Post)
"Ingenious...a triumph...suspenseful and elegant." ( San Francisco Chronicle)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Daniel Black on 10-19-17

1960's Nazi Germany comes alive

The world created by Robert Harris is wholly believable and the inclusion of historical figures, locations, newspapers, streets, etc. make it all the more believable. I thought the narration by Michael Jayston was superb and seemed to give Xavier March the tone and manner I would have expected from a forty-something divorced, disillusioned cop who has lived under Nazi oppression his entire life. The story is well paced and keeps you guessing. If you are into alternate history, KGB type thrillers, "who done it" murder mysteries, or intrigues surrounding the Third Reich, then this book is for you. I'm an avid reader of all things World War II and it was very interesting, yet easily envisioned, to temporarily live in a world of 1960's Nazi Germany.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By E. on 12-17-17

Huge Letdown, Lame Story, Don’t waste your time!

The story really builds into what seems like a thrilling whodunnit. But, the author uses a well known meeting and events surrounding it as motives for the murder. There was a Made for TV movie about this meeting of high ranking Nazi officers discussing the final solution for the “Jewish problem.” So, once we get near the end, it is a huge letdown. I am NOT making light of downplaying the Holocaust. But, the author used it and a few changes in history for a weak premise wrapped in high expectations. It’s not the worse book I’ve listened to, but it was a waste of time I can’t get back. The reader’s pronunciation was very good for the most part. German names take some practice and are easy to mess up. His performance was the only thing positive about this mess, except that the author did get things correct about how terrible life in Germany would be if Hitler and the Reich were still in power.

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc