Fated : Alex Verus

  • by Benedict Jacka
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: Alex Verus
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

More

What the Critics Say

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" (SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" (Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" (FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" (BOOKCHICKCITY)

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent gritty fantasy

I came across this book/reading by accident on the audible website and I thoroughly enjoyed the audiobook. I enjoyed the nature of the main character who deals with magic without the endless psychological self examination of Harry Dresden. Whilst there are a number of books in this genre I thought the author showed a great imagination in creating and populating his alternate world. I thought there were elements of Neil Gaimans Neverwherein the book. I also enjoyed the world weary voice of the presenter, I think he gave Alex Verus a complex personality which suited the text. Good audiobook.
Read full review

- lynn "Hi I am a geologist that now lives in South Australia I work in remote locations and find audiobooks essential for my sanity."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-02-2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK