Farewell to the Master

  • by Harry Bates
  • Narrated by Tom Weiner
  • 1 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Were the alien and his robot here to help or hinder humankind? Find out the surprising answer in the original story that inspired the classic 1951 science-fiction movie The Day the Earth Stood Still.This is a must-read for any science-fiction lover, for, as the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction says, "the film lost the story's ironic ending." Now listeners can discover first-hand what Hollywood left out in this best-known novella of the legendary 1930s idea man, Harry Bates.Bates's novella, published in 1940 under the title Farewell to the Master, with its poignant, haunting last line, posthumously brought him the coveted Balrog Award (1983). Long-time science-fiction fans rank it and its creator among the greats.

Price: $6.96
Channel: Sci-Fi Short Stories

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Starts with an introduction about Bates. Since Bates is not that well known today, the introduction was appreciated. Written in 1940 it may be a little slow for the under fifty crowd, but it is a well written story with a great message. The movie was a classic and like most movies is not exactly like the book. Both are good. It was a fun and thought provoking listen.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Loved This Story

I have always loved the movie original The Day the Earth Stood Still and had wondered what the original story was like, and found Farewell to the Master absolutely delightful.

Sadly there seems to be very few stories from Harry Bates that have survived the test of time. It is wonderful to have this story on audible.com.

The reading by Tom Weiner was perfect for this story. His style on this book reminded me of the 1950s. But I had previously heard him narrate Blackwater, and he sounded a bit different there. Overall a great reading, and he calmly is able to emphasize drama without being too over dramatic.
Read full review

- Clydene

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-05-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.