Extinction End : The Extinction Cycle

  • by Nicholas Sansbury Smith
  • Narrated by Bronson Pinchot
  • Series: The Extinction Cycle
  • 12 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Hope rises in the hearts of those still left standing, but safety seems to be just an illusion. In a single night of shattering terror, Plum Island is destroyed, and key scientist Dr. Kate Lovato is abducted.
The end has arrived....
Almost seven weeks have passed since the Hemorrhage Virus ravaged the world. The remnants of the United States military have regrouped and relocated Central Command to the George Washington Carrier Strike Group. It's here, in the North Atlantic, that President Jan Ringgold and Vice President George Johnson prepare to deploy a new bioweapon and embark on the final mission to take back the country from the Variants.
With his home gone and his friends kidnapped, Master Sergeant Reed Beckham and his remaining men must take drastic measures to save what's left of the human race. But not everyone at Central Command has the same plan for victory. As the Variants continue to evolve, only a handful of heroes stand between the creatures and mankind's total extinction.
One way or another, the battle for the United States of America ends here.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This final book is the ultimate in zombie horror.

The Hemorrhage Virus, created by doctors of the military hoping to create the perfect soldier, is still a deadly threat but now the variants have morphed and become more deadly over the last seven weeks.  Dr. Kate Levado and her colleague, Ellis, have tried to save the world only to discover that the variants are morphing to fit their environments and they are breeding!

Master Sergeant Beckham has his hands full with the variants but now he has to rescue Kate, Horn’s daughters and Meg from the variants who kidnapped them.  Face to face with the Bone Collector and the human collaborators, Beckham and his small team fight to reclaim their family and loved ones.

During all of this, President Ringgold and VP Johnson plan to strategically release a new bio weapon to defeat the off-spring of the variants – the perfect soldiers.  Ringgold and Johnson are faced with a mutiny; Lt. Davis must defeat and squelch the coup before it’s too late and the nuclear bombs are released on Team Ghost!

Fitz, Horn, Beckham and others face life changing decisions – not everyone makes it out alive or in one piece.

This final book is the ultimate in zombie horror.  There is not one moment of down time for anyone – there is constant action, danger with twists and turns that leave the listener in stunned awe.  At times, I railed against Nicholas Sansbury Smith calling him every name in the book only to have my husband remind me to be patient!  Smith masterfully puts all the pieces together in one last book, demonstrating why our military soldiers and others fight the fight, what the U.S. means to some and how life is never something to be taken for granted.

This is a tear jerker at times, an emotional roller coaster making the listener experience ups and downs that are monumental.  There are some beautiful moments where life and death are experienced in ways that only someone skilled in story telling can relay with words.

This is one of my few favorite zombie series.  Smith ends this series well leaving room for other characters to move forward if and when he chooses.

Again, Bronson Pinchot did an excellent job of narrating.  His skill at drawing the listener in with his voice is surpassed by none.  He projected the right emotions each time and caught the listener up in the rush of excitement.  I enjoyed listening to his narrations and look forward to hearing more from him.

There were no issues with production.

Audiobook was provided for review by the author.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]
Read full review

- AudioBook Reviewer "All of my reviews are on my blog audiobookreviewer dot com"


I've now listened to the whole series 2x and what can I say? I laughed, I cried, I got angry at the monsters both human and variant. These books were written in a way that each character came alive and in the end I was relieved at the the victories achieved by each and every person in the books. Thank you Mr. Sansbury Smith for the introduction to my new friends and if I happen to have the privilege of meeting them again in the future, I wouldn't complain!
Read full review

- Bobbi Groce

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-25-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.