Expanded Universe, Vol. 2

  • by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Narrated by Bronson Pinchot
  • 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For the millions of Heinlein fans around the world comes a guided tour through the thoughts and insights of "one of the most influential writers in American literature" (New York Times Book Review).
Robert A. Heinlein has been hailed as one of the most forward-thinking science fiction writers of all time, and Expanded Universe (presented in two volumes) offers the perfect collection of his works to provide listeners with true insights into his uniquely creative mind.
Heinlein personally selected each story or essay for inclusion in this collection, which is ordered chronologically, with volume two picking up with "Nothing Ever Happens on the Moon". This remarkable collection highlights the development of Heinlein's writing style and his philosophy on life throughout his career.
More importantly, this collection is as close to an autobiography as anything Heinlein wrote during his life. Heinlein was an extremely private person who never wrote much about himself. In this exclusive collection, he offers forewords to most of his stories and essays (and an occasional afterword), giving listeners a rare glimpse into the inner mind of the master.
Expanded Universe, Vol. 2 is a must-have for any Heinlein enthusiast and any fan of science fiction.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Historic / sentimental value

This collection and personal notes of R H is of interest mostly as a window into the soul of the writer. R H is best when pulling us through the fantasy of some imaginative plot. When he wanders across fields of social and political criticism he grows arrogant and simplistic. Still this is a good outer garment for one's Heinlein collection.
Read full review

- Carter Merkle

Good vernacular, no story.

Sorry, no story here. Much good vernacular if you collect such things. No story.
Read full review

- Larry

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-09-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.