Ex-Patriots : Ex-Heroes

  • by Peter Clines
  • Narrated by Jay Snyder, Khristine Hvam, Mark Boyett, Elisabeth Rodgers
  • Series: Ex-Heroes
  • 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It’s been two years since the world ended. Two years since the dead rose and the plague of ex-humanity decimated mankind. For most of that time, the superhero called St. George, formerly known to the world as the Mighty Dragon, has protected the people of Los Angeles at their film-studio-turned-fortress, The Mount. Together with his fellow heroes - Cerberus, Zzzap, and Stealth - he’s tried to give the survivors hope and something like a real life. But the swollen population of The Mount is becoming harder and harder to sustain, and the heroes are feeling the pressure.
Hope arrives in the form of a United States Army battalion, based in a complex a few hundred miles away in Arizona. This is not just any base, however. The men and women of Project Krypton are super-soldiers, designed and created before the outbreak to be better, stronger, and faster than normal humans. They want the heroes and all the people of The Mount to rejoin America and have normal lives again.
But can the military be trusted? And is there even a country left to rejoin? There is a secret at the heart of Project Krypton, and those behind it have an awesome power that will help them keep that secret hidden. The power of Freedom.
BONUS SHORT STORY: Ex-Patriots includes "Codependent", one of four interlocking stories from The Junkie Quatrain by Peter Clines.

More

What the Critics Say

"Anyone who says there's nothing new in the world of zombie fiction hasn't read Peter Clines. Ex-Patriots is even better than its predecessor. This is a series that's going places." (Mira Grant, author of Feed and Deadline)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

THE FAULT IS MINE

PEOPLE BELIEVE A LOT OF THINGS WHEN THINGS GO BAD.
I have to admit a weakness of mine. I have trouble controlling myself during a book sale. I love Clines' books, 14 and The Junkie Quantriun and will be getting The Fold. I was not a huge fan of the first book, thought it was so-so. I have never been a Super Hero fan, but I am a huge Zombie fan. The only super hero I ever cared about was Batman, cause he used his brains and invented gadgets. The soap opera that plays out between the super heroes and the regular people may be indicative of what would really happen, but I don't really care. I could not get it into my head to care about any of these characters. This whole book is cartoonish and would seem to appeal to fans of DragonBallz or Pokeman.

I also get annoyed at Zombie books that pretend to be different. Several of them like to invent different names for Zombies, as if they have to pay a royalty to Romero every time they use the name Zombies. The reader is never going to think EX or Stalkers or what ever other cute name a writer gives them to try and make them his own. We are always going to think Zombie, so use the term.

The narrators are okay. One of them does make mature females sound like anime characters, HEHE. The main narrator has one of those movie trailer voices, which is cool at first, but over time grows just as monotone as a quiet voice.

If you were a big fan of book one, ignore me, you should love this. If you are not a fan of book one or not a fan of comic books, no matter what the sale price, stay away.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

The superheroes+zombies mashup gets a little bette

This is definitely popcorn entertainment. Superheroes + zombies: it's a novelized comic book, and it reads like one. I thought the first book (Ex-Heroes) was pretty cheesy and mediocre if enjoyable. The second book is also cheesy, maybe just a notch above mediocre. Clines's writing has improved in this sequel, and it particularly shows in the plotting. Instead of a dumb boss fight with a predictable conclusion at the end, there are several fairly clever (if very much conforming to standard superhero tropes) twists, some of which made things that initially had me rolling my eyes suddenly become more credible. The battle at the end is more complex and has more factions and is left a little bit inconclusive (well, in typical genre fashion, you can't ever have a villain decisively killed).

In Ex-Heroes, we were introduced to a gang of superheroes who were defending "The Mount," a fortress inside what was once Paramount Studios in Hollywood, where human survivors have barricaded themselves against the zombie hordes that have overrun the world. In this second book in what is obviously meant to be an ongoing series, we're introduced to a group of "super soldiers" who were engineered by the U.S. Army just before everything went to apocalypse. Led by "Captain Freedom" (yeah, yeah), they discover the Mount when they fly a predator drone overhead. The heroes send out Zzzap, their energy form hero, and soon the superheroes are meeting the super-soldiers, there is the obligatory initial misunderstanding leading to a completely unnecessary hero battle, followed by the two groups deciding to join together, followed by the discovery of sinister secrets, a hidden bad guy, a returning foe, and more "killing dead zombie celebrity" jokes.

I gave the first book 3 stars; I give this one 3.5. I don't think Peter Clines is going to be putting out anything really fantastically well-written or brilliant, but although falling a bit below my usual quality threshold for series I want to keep following, I have enjoyed both books enough that I will probably snap up the next book when it's released. This is very much hardcore zombie-superhero-nerd fantasy, but if that hits your sweet spot, take the time to enjoy the unabashed enthusiastic genre love here.

Very good voice acting here, and with such a large cast, I appreciated having male and female voices to handle different characters.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-05-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios