Endurance : Green Universe

  • by Jay Lake
  • Narrated by Katherine Kellgren
  • Series: Green Universe
  • 13 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Green is back in Copper Downs. Purchased from her father in sunny Selistan when she was four years old, she was harshly raised to be a courtesan, companion, and bedmate of the Immortal Duke of Copper Downs. But Green rebelled.Green killed the Duke, and many others, and won her freedom. Yet she is still claimed by the gods and goddesses of her world, and they still require her service. Their demands are greater than any duke's could have been.
Godslayers have come to the Stone Coast, magicians whose cult is dedicated to destroying the many gods of Green's world.In the turmoil following the Immortal Duke's murder, Green made a God out of her power and her memories.Now the gods turn to her to protect them from the Slayers.
Jay Lake brings us an epic fantasy not "in the tradition of Tolkien," but, instead, sensual, ominous, shot through with the sweat of fear and the intoxication of power.

More

What the Critics Say

"Lake deftly weaves complicated, stubborn characters into a plot that reaches the grandest and most personal scales without ever straining credulity… This complex, lonesome, haunting novel will appeal to fans of Valente, Monette, and Mieville." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Enjoyable

I enjoyed the book in many ways more than the first.

The performance was so good I sought out other things Katherine Kellgren did.

As with the last book there is enough action to keep things moving and enough surprises to keep you guessing.

The best and worst part is that clearly there needs to be another book in the series. Hopefully I won't have to wait long.
Read full review

- MrBoobo

I couldn't wait for this to come out...

We loved Green and kept watching for the next book to come out. Green was just the build up for this adventure which left a wide opening for the next book. It might seem odd but I think we will like book 3 better than book 2. There is a little too much going on all the time and to much set up without conclususion. We will still go for book 3 and hope for the best as long as they keep Katherine Kellgren as the narrator.
Read full review

- Cyndi W "SipRedWine"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios