Dr. Bloodmoney

  • by Philip K. Dick
  • Narrated by Phil Gigante
  • 9 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dr. Bloodmoney is Philip K. Dick's darkly comic riff on Dr. Strangelove, a look at how humanity gets along after the end of the world. This Nebula Award nominee has all the wild characters and twisty science fiction plotting that Dick fans know and love.
What happens after the bombs drop? This is the troubling question Philip K. Dick addresses with Dr. Bloodmoney, or How We Got Along After the Bomb. It is the story of a world reeling from the effects of nuclear annihilation and fallout, a world where mutated humans and animals are the norm, and the scattered survivors take comfort from a disc jockey endlessly circling the globe in a broken-down satellite. And hidden amongst the survivors is Dr. Bloodmoney himself, the man responsible for it all. This bizarre cast of characters cajole, seduce, and backstab in their attempts to get ahead in what is left of the world, consequences and casualties be damned. A sort of companion to Dr. Strangelove, an unofficial and unhinged sequel, Dick's novel is just as full of dark comedy and just as chilling.


What the Critics Say

"A masterpiece." (Roberto BolaƱo)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Boring boring boring

Second PKD book and helped me decide I'm just not a fan. The characters are boring, cartoonish, and not believable, the story is boring with no compelling conflict whatsoever. For the second time I'm left with the feeling that it's just a bunch of loosely associated things thrown together in cartoonish fashion. Wish I had my time back
Read full review

- Brian

a weekend with a sprained knee.

this story always beings fallout to my head. my head also brings up mad Max, my girlfriend has no problem hearing bits here and there. I really enjoy the images that come to mind. thank you audible for releasing this story to download format.
Read full review

- Shawn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-28-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio