Doctor Who: The Stone Rose

  • by Jacqueline Rayner
  • Narrated by David Tennant
  • 2 hrs and 22 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Mickey is startled to find a statue of Rose in a museum; a statue that is 2,000 years old. The Doctor realises that this means the TARDIS will shortly take them to Ancient Rome, but when it does, he and Rose soon have more on their minds than sculpture. While the Doctor searches for a missing boy, Rose befriends a girl who claims to know the future; a girl whose predictions are surprisingly accurate. But then the Doctor stumbles on the hideous truth behind the statue of Rose, and Rose herself learns that you have to be very careful what you wish for. Featuring the Doctor and Rose as played by David Tennant and Billie Piper in the acclaimed hit series from BBC Television.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Be Careful What You Wish For

Alright... I admit it... I'm a long-time fan of Doctor Who. (The requirement for full disclosure has now been satisfied)
When I downloaded this book, I was expecting to hear Billie Piper reading for her character Rose Tyler and David Tennant reading as the Doctor and narrating. This was not the case. My disappointment however was short-lived; David Tennant's reading of "The Stone Rose" is, quite simply, wonderful. The voices of Mickey and Rose are clearly identifiable with the characters in the BBC series. I especially enjoyed hearing David Tennant play the secondary characters.
If you're a fan of The Doctor, the story follows the established formula (more-or-less) although Rose is not the typical Companion but then again the Doctor is not the typical Doctor either.
Read full review

- Vincent Tume "I'm a software engineer working out of Toronto Canada. I enjoy science fiction but have started to drift into other areas."

very enjoyable

I had a great time listening to this. The story was good enough but having David Tennant read it makes it special. You won't be sorry if you download this.
Read full review

- Mark

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-06-2006
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited