Regular price: $24.78

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.78

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories. A brand-new 12th Doctor story for a brand-new 12th Doctor!
Following on from the success of the 50th anniversary paperback anthology, 11 Doctors 11 Stories, this highly-acclaimed collection of short Doctor Who stories contains all of the original 11 adventures plus an exciting new 12th Doctor story written by best-selling US author Holly Black.
Authors featured are Eoin Colfer, Michael Scott, Marcus Sedgwick, Philip Reeve, Patrick Ness, Richelle Mead, Malorie Blackman, Alex Scarrow, Charlie Higson, Derek Landy, Neil Gaiman, and Holly Black.
©2014 Various (P)2014 Penguin Books Limited
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jim "The Impatient" on 10-06-17


I love most things Science and Science Fiction. I read fairy tales, tall tells, children's sci-fi, teen, soft, hard, even gay sci-fi. I have never known much about Doctor Who. I have listened to a few short books, but still was lost. This seemed like a good way to figure him out. I also bought a book, called WHO OLOGY. I bought the book after listening to a couple of stories, because my interest was peaked. Buying the book is not necessary, but could help. I think it is hard for Americans to wrap their heads around this character, more so than the English, because of the difference in cultures. In America, I believe we want things to be more black and white and we want to totally understand why something happens, Who did it, and how it happened. In this series, Doctor WHO, is an enigma, and remains so at all times. You are to never know exactly who he is or what he is. This series, which is a pretty good collection of stories, is a good way to better understand him. I need to also mention that most stories run toward YA.

Here are some things I have learned:

Doctor Who is a Time Lord
They are not human
They are from a different planet
They regenerate, thus 12 different doctors, but the same doctor
Who, is the last Time Lord
There are other Time Lords and some are not nice.
Who is not a doctor of medicine
Who knows medicine
The doctor does not remember how old he is.
Some say he is 759 years old, some 909 and some even older
He is eccentric and vain YOU ARE SMART, NOT AS SMART AS ME, BUT WHO IS

Looks like a blue police box. Used to call the police in London if your in trouble.
Inside it is enormous, with lots of rooms, several libraries, etc.
Is a living entity
Is a space ship
Is a time travel machine
Breaks down a lot

There are lots of bad guys in the universe. Daleks seem to be the worse. They seem to be creatures who live in armored bodies. The have servants, such as: Robomen, Orgrons and Pig Slaves, to name just a few. Dinosaurs show up often. The Silurians are not aliens. They're Earth-liens. They used to own our planet and are reptilian.

Most of these stories are good to better and none were bad. The narrators are all professional with the exception of one author who reads his own. Ness's story was my favorite, but I am also a fan of his writing. If your wanting to learn about the Doctor and the series, this is a good way to go, but you will never know everything.


Read More Hide me

41 of 46 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Chris Coyne on 11-23-14

The Twelve Doctors.

Would you listen to Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories again? Why?

Yes. Because I'm indicted to all things Doctor Who.

What other book might you compare Doctor Who: 12 Doctors 12 Stories to and why?

Any great omnibus of some of my favorite Sci-fi show.

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

I wish more former companions could of done more of the narrations, or better still some of the former Doctors.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Some of the stories were great, some were bad. But I enjoyed listing to all of then.

Any additional comments?

The only stories I didn't like we're the stories concerning the first and fifth Doctors. The rest of the stories were wonderful.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Maria on 01-15-16

Just like watching tv

Very cleverly some of the stories are made extra "realistic" by actually being put in a context with what you've seen on tv

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Susan Clark on 10-07-15

Does not disappoint

Each story is splendid and shows the different characteristics of each Doctor. Well done all!

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc