Doc Savage: The Frightened Fish : The Wild Adventures of Doc Savage

  • by Lester Dent (creator), Will Murray
  • Narrated by Michael McConnohie
  • Series: The Wild Adventures of Doc Savage
  • 4 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A far-ranging adventure that begins in New York City with sightings of mysterious people inexplicably terrified by images of ordinary fish, and brings the Man of Bronze to New England, where all sea life has mysteriously disappeared from Massachusetts coastal waters. The trail ultimately takes Doc by submarine to Occupied Japan, and an incredible showdown with a foe from his past, who was believed to have perished in the 1945 novel, The Screaming Man.
This is a story of the early Cold War, and a sequel to Lester's 1948 masterpiece, The Red Spider, in which a more mature and emotionally sophisticated Man of Bronze tackles an international threat which resonates with today's ecologically-challenged headlines. Characters from his past reappear, and Doc Savage is tested in ways never before imagined.
Michael McConnohie masterfully brings this gripping tale to life, adding depths of emotional complexity that will make The Frightened Fish and its shattering climax live long in your memory.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story and well read.

This was one of the shorter stories in the Doc Savage story series but I enjoyed it a lot. It also showed a different side of Doc Savage than any of his other stories ever has which was quite refreshing.
Read full review

- Bill O'Leary


Exciting, well-written, well-performed, an excellent post-war Doc Savage adventure. Thoroughly enjoyed this one, start to finish.
Read full review

- David "86th Floor Librarian"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-18-2014
  • Publisher: