Doc Savage: Flight into Fear : The Wild Adventures of Doc Savage

  • by Lester Dent, Will Murray
  • Narrated by Michael McConnohie
  • Series: The Wild Adventures of Doc Savage
  • 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The career of Doc Savage began in the Depression era of the early 1930s, continued on through World War II, and concluded at the dawn of the Cold War.
Most fans of the classic pulp series naturally prefer the high adventure tales of the Great Depression, while Doc's World War II adventures are also very compelling. Comparatively few Doc Savage novels took place in that postwar period in which the Iron Curtain first fell and the Man of Bronze turned his attention to the new enemy: Soviet Russia and its Communist satellites.
Probably the greatest Cold War challenge Doc faced took place in The Red Spider, the novel that was suppressed in 1948 and not published until 1979. In that tense tale, Doc infiltrated Moscow in order to secure one of the Cold War's greatest secrets. His brilliant success made him a permanent enemy of Russia.
Flight into Fear is a follow-up to The Red Spider. Marked for death by the Kremlin, Doc Savage is forced to go underground and take on a new identity as Banner, a.k.a. The Face, in order to penetrate the desolate Russian Arctic and advance the West's earliest efforts at nuclear deterrence. His mission: establish the super-secret Project Moonwinx on Soviet soil.
At the same time, the Kremlin has sent a mysterious female assassin known only as The Red Widow to liquidate America's greatest defender once and for all. Her motivation: pure revenge.
These sizzling ingredients make this one of the most compelling novels of Doc Savage's Cold War career. Set in 1948, Flight Into Fear is based on a Lester Dent manuscript, and revised by Will Murray as an example of the type of challenges Doc Savage would have pursued had his magazine not been canceled in 1949.
Michael McConnohie gives a very suspenseful reading of this riveting tale torn from the pages of a historic time gone by.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Average read. Nothing to write home about.

Average read. Nothing special in this book
Meg.. Choose a different series if you are looking for one.
Read full review

- Michael G. Rawson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-23-2014
  • Publisher: