Diplomatic Immunity : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A rich Komarran merchant fleet has been impounded at Graf Station in distant Quaddiespace after a bloody incident involving the convoy's Barrayaran military escort. Lord Miles Vorkosigan and his wife, Lady Ekaterin, have other things on their minds, such as getting home in time to attend the long-awaited births of their first children. But when duty calls in the voice of Barrayar's Emperor Gregor, Miles, as imperial auditor, has no choice but to answer.Waiting on Graf Station are diplomatic snarls, tangled loyalties, old friends, new enemies, racial tensions, lies and deceptions, mysterious disappearances, and a race with time for life against death in horrifying new forms. The downside of being a high-level troubleshooter comes when trouble starts shooting back.


What the Critics Say

"As usual, Bujold is adept at world-building and provides a witty, character-centered plot, full of exquisite grace notes....fans will be thoroughly gripped and likely to finish the book in a single sitting." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

No longer without a net

I love LMB's characters, not only in the Miles series but in her other work. They are deeply believable and engaging, and they develop in ways which connect us very strongly with their humanity.

That said, I have to admit that the Imperial Auditor Miles pleases me less than the breakneck, impossible odds fellow we all first came to love. Miles has so much more going for him now, that it is hard to imagine him falling. He is still improvising at the point of contact in imaginative and entertaining ways, but he is no longer flying without a net, and I do somewhat miss that quality in the series.

Nonetheless, this is wonderful writing and I can't wait for my next Vorkosigan download.
Read full review

- David

Honeymoon period...

I have been follow the saga for a couple of years now - i have not actually read any of these books so cannot comment on the faithfulness of this audiobook, BUT I do have every audiobook of this series now and do eagerly anticipating each new release.

With this I am glad to say this is another smash hit - I so do feel for Miles' character and love the twists and turns as each mystery has to be solved. Again, there is the development of existing and new characters (in the form of Quaddies).

The narrator is Grover Gardner and this is the icing on the cake - would have to admit I am partial to Scott Brick and Stefan Rudnicki - and have actually picked books up with the narrator being a major fact as they carry you through the tale, adding emotion and a charm to each character.

By the way, if you did not know, the series order is:
"The Warrior's Apprentice"
"The Vor game"
"Borders of Infinity"
"Brothers in Arms"
"Mirror Dance"
"A Civil Campaign"
"Diplomatic Immunity"
Read full review

- Phelix_da_Kat

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-22-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.