Dimension X

  • by Isaac Asimov
  • 0 hrs and 29 mins
  • Performance

Publisher's Summary

On a world where nighttime only comes every 2,500 years, what happens when darkness is about to fall? Based on Isaac Asimov's classic story, this episode of Dimension X originally aired on September 29, 1951. Featuring "adventures in time and space told in future tense", Dimension X aired over NBC from April 8, 1950, through September 29, 1951. The series adapted stories by the modern masters of science fiction, including Ray Bradbury, Robert Heinlein, Clifford Simak, Theodore Sturgeon, and many others.


What the Critics Say

"The landmark series was Dimension X, which was broadcast by NBC....It was the first radio series to treat science fiction in an adult way." (Mike Ashley, Transformations: The History of the Science-Fiction Magazine 1950 to 1970)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Pretty Good Adaptation

???Nightfall,??? by Isaac Asimov, is one of the greatest science fiction short stories ever written. The premise is, what happens on a planet where total darkness occurs once every two thousand years? This adaptation is pretty good, if you don't mind old-fashioned radio acting. This is worth more than $0.95 (or $0.66 for members).
Read full review

- Conrad Halling

A Classic Radio Drama of Asimov's Nightfall

There are several ways to experience Issac Asimov's classic SF story Nightfall, but in audio format, experiencing it as a fully produced radio drama has its benefits and this is an excellent production.

If you were only going to experience one of Asimov's stories, this would be a great one, though it's unlikely that if you experience this one you will stop here.

A provocative premiss, an otherworldly but comparable civilization that is interesting and an engaging story with tension that builds until the story's climax all add together to make this one of Asimov's most unforgettable works.

The performance quality is excellent too, from the heyday of network radio. A must hear.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-04-2007
  • Publisher: Radio Spirits, Inc.