Devil's Homecoming : Blackout

  • by Bobby Akart
  • Narrated by John David Farrell
  • Series: Blackout
  • 5 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Build. Destroy. Rebuild.
The dawn of human existence has proven we are warlike creatures.
Civilizations are built, then they're destroyed.
After destruction, will you have the tenacity to overcome obstacles and rebuild?
Your fellow man may be the biggest hurdle because hell is empty and the devils are all here.
This fast-paced post-apocalyptic dystopian fiction series from author Bobby Akart (The Boston Brahmin series and the Prepping for Tomorrow series), has been hailed as a masterpiece of EMP survival fiction. Prepare to learn, as well as be entertained, as The Blackout Series continues with Devil's Homecoming.
In the final installment of The Blackout Series, Devil's Homecoming, an unexpected turn of events deals the rebuilding effort a near deadly blow as the United States Government, in the form of a FEMA occupying force, descends upon Savannah. The FEMA battalion's leader is hell-bent on revenge and he is proof that in a post-apocalyptic world, hell is empty and all the devils are here.
Note: This audiobook does not contain strong language. It is intended to entertain and inform audiences of all ages, including teen and young adults. Although some scenes depict the realistic threat our nation faces from a devastating solar flare, and the societal collapse which will result in the aftermath, it does not contain graphic scenes typical of other audiobooks in the post-apocalyptic genre.
Books in The Blackout Series:

Book One: 36 Hours
Book Two: Zero Hour
Book Three: Turning Point
Book Four: Shiloh Ranch
Book Five: Hornet's Nest
Book Six: Devil's Homecoming


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

End of an era.

This picks up exactly where the last one ends, with a squadron of FEMA soldiers descending on place. They are being heavy handed with the people because of who is in charge! It's up to the Ryman family and their friends to try to put a stop to the tyrants and finish this once and for all.

That's all I'll say about the story because I could easily spoil something!! I have to say, I'm sad to see the series end, but it was a fitting end for them!! This ties the Ryman family story up nicely and I liked the way it ended. The plot was fast paced and intense because it's them against us basically, and I was hooked the whole way through.

These may be quick reads but every story is well written and developed and the author creates characters that are easy to like and easy to relate to. The Ryman family have come far from the normal family they once were. They are hardened and will do whats needed to survive.

In all, this is a great series and on that anyone can read. I thoroughly enjoyed every book and this author has become one of my favourites. It's a must read.

Again, John David Farrell captured the essence of this book perfectly. He has the right inflection at the right time and told this really well. I will have to check out more by him!!

I was voluntarily provided this audiobook for free from the author, narrator, or publisher. This in no way affected nor influenced my thoughts.
Read full review

- Natalie @ BookLoversLife

A fitting finale to this series

When you put hours and hours into a series of books you really want it to have a great ending.  Devil's Homecoming had a really enjoyable one.  It was one that you were hoping for 4 books ago but things kept happening to the remaining survivors.  Akart was able to take 5.5 books of information, history, and feelings and pull together a believable and enjoyable finale.

Devil's Homecoming picks up right where Hornet's Nest left off -- on Main Street where FEMA officials are trying to round up the people during their Thanksgiving celebration. The main characters of all 5 books up until now are all in play to try and end this nightmare once and for all.

The Tiger Tails really took my heart this series - I love their tenacity and ability to save the day throughout.  Akart wrote them in such a way that they were believably young but also able to do a lot since they had to grow up quickly throughout.  The same can be said about the Ryman daughter.  She was into normal girl things and golf before the CME hit the Earth and since then she's grown up quickly from book to book.

This book was well worth the wait and thankfully Akart didn't make us wait years to get through the entire series. I loved the story arc's within each book and the overall arc throughout the series.  I felt like he put a ton of thought into what and why things were going to happen.

Overall, I'm happy to be done with the Blackout Series but I'll be sad to see all of these characters go. I am excited to move onto Akart's newest series: Pandemic.

I received a free copy of this book. It has not affected my review of my opinion.

If you enjoyed this review, please vote for it! Every vote helps. If you'd like to see more books like this please check out BriansBookBlog DOT com.
Read full review

- Brian

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-02-2017
  • Publisher: Bobby Akart Inc.