Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

As chief sorcerer of Felport, Marla Mason thought she'd faced every kind of evil the magical world had to offer. But she's never faced a killer like this. He's dark, glib, handsome as the devil - and exactly who he says he is. Death - in the flesh. He's arrived in Felport with a posse composed of a half-insane necromancer and the reanimated corpse of John Wilkes Booth, and he isn't leaving until he gets what he came for. Only Marla is crazy enough to tell Death to go back to Hell.With the Founders' Ball just around the bend, drawing together the brightest, meanest, and most dangerous of Felport's magical elite, the last thing Marla needs is all-out war with the King of the Underworld, but that's exactly what she's got. As the battle lines are drawn, she can count on her hedonistic, body-hopping partner Rondeau...but how many of her old allies will stand by her side when facing the ultimate adversary? To save her city, Marla will have to find a way to cheat Death...literally.
BONUS AUDIO: Includes an exclusive introduction written and read by author T.A. Pratt.
©2008 T.A. Pratt; (P)2009 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By David on 05-07-09

Buffy redux?

I almost put this one back on the shelf after the first hour, but gradually it became more entertaining, and I stuck with it. The world of the series and the vocal style of the narrator were both reminiscent of Buffy, and while I am not a big fan, I assume that will be an attraction for many listeners. For me the best aspect of this book was the creation of some appealing and delightful characters. Unfortunately, for most of the book, their choices are predictable and uninspired, and the "deeper" aspects of moral conflict are disappointingly obvious. Still, by the end I was enjoying them and did not regret sticking with the book.
WARNING. If you have not read the earlier titles in this series do NOT start with this book. It is full of spoilers about important plot turns from earlier episodes.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mysticalsister on 05-16-09

So much fun I'd buy the series twice!

I envy anyone who will discover Marla Mason and her world. I got halfway through the first book and I was hooked! Funny and fabulous with a wacky cast of characters, T. A. Pratt's series is pure delight. Please bring us book 5 soon! A totally unique listening experience -- and one of the best narrators out there! Thank's T.A. for great entertainment!

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Loki on 04-05-09

A disappointing read

I was hoping to enjoy the whole series, as I like urban fantasy. The writing in Dead Reign isn't helped by having a narrator with a high, fast, breathy voice- when she interupts a necromancer in a midnight graveyard and says 'You've been a bad boy' she doesn't growl the phrase- she sounds like a rather arch nursery teacher. But I just don't think the writing is good enough to let me finish one book, let alone the series.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Patricia on 05-01-10

I liked it

Listened to this while driving and enjoyed it. The narration was good and lets face it when you buy this you know you are not buying Shakespear. Its a light, good story thats a good example of its type. I will be getting others in the series.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc