Dawn of Night : Erevis Cale

  • by Paul S. Kemp
  • Narrated by John Pruden
  • Series: Erevis Cale
  • 10 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The shadows recede from a lost temple in a forgotten wilderness.
The sun rises on a new calling for a man as loyal as he is mysterious. The day's beginning finds Erevis Cale holding in his steady hands more power than he dared hope for - and more responsibility than he ever imagined. For now, he will have to put his trust in a god served by theives and born of chaos.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An Excellent Erevis Cale Story.

The Dawn of Night is the second book of the Erevis Cale Trilogy, continuing the Sembian adventures Paul Kemp's main Forgotten Realms character. This book deals with Cale and his companions chasing a band of evil creatures on a mission for an evil Arch-mage who is trying to gain world controlling power. he is also dealing with the changes made in him in book one, which transformed him into a Shade, an Avatar of the God of Shadows, Mask. With the help of his companions, he chases the evil creatures into the Underdark, to that den of Villainy, Skullport, where the battle continues in an epic confrontation, with a betrayal costing the party dearly.
The plotting is solid, with some seriously interesting elements that really bring the story to life. Erevis's new Shade abilities are quite powerful, but they come at a cost. The question is, how much is he willing to pay? The characters are fleshed out some more, especially Riven the Assassin and Jak Fleet the Halfling. The villains are well thought out, and you root against them the whole book. I am really looking forward to reading the Third book. This book should appeal to fans of RA Salvatore's Drizzt Books.
Read full review

- Steve H. Caldwell


The book was narrated well, but the story lacked real substance. The books in this trilogy should have been just one big book.
Read full review

- Willis

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-02-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios