Regular price: $14.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Normal is just a word, and one that no longer applies to Rachel Brackett's life in the Bitterroot Mountains.
Keeping her two lives in Sullivan, Montana, isn't easy. Rachel struggles to protect those with the deepest secrets, and the only one helping to keep her sanity intact is Leonardo. When he disappears, Rachel's world tilts on a dangerous axis.
War with the Others is building, leaving Rachel and Justiz in a rush to find Leonardo.
Time is not on her side, and Rachel must find a way of reaching Leonardo or risk those she cares the most about.
©2014 RM Alexander (P)2015 RM Alexander
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Willow Star Serenity on 03-01-16

An Intense Journey

I am so glad that I took the time to listen to this audio book. I read the trilogy awhile back but I wanted to hear it. The narrator was amazing! She did a great job! Please listen to Veil Of Secrecy before listening to this. Enjoy!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Cyn on 09-30-15

Wonderful installement to this series

Any additional comments?

The author put some interesting twist in this read with some real sorrow. I kept saying no please no but she didn't it anyway. I really enjoyed book 2 but not as much as I did book 1 mostly due to Rachel and how she deals with issues. When Rachel's two lives meet head on she struggles to keep everyone safe. With the outcome of this book there is only one thing left to do and that will be the start of the next book in this series. The author brings back some wonderful characters as she touches base with the past book. As the War with the Others builds it is harder to keep her secret safe. When this war finally hits some will die and others will be left behind to pick up the pieces. I have to wonder what they outcome will be for so many who have lost so much.

Rachel is a strong bullhead women who will not listen to reason. I really liked her in the first book but not so much in this one. She doesn't really think just runs head on into trouble thinking she is helping when she is not. Her actions made her lose someone very important to her. Rachel really is a very sweet and wonderful lady who just needs to think before she does anything. With what she has planned to do in the next book I sure hope she really thinks before she jumps if she doesn't she could get in the worse trouble ever or even end of dead.

Leonardo is still a wonderful character keeping everyone safe but in this installment things go a little haywire as he has to deal with issues he has no control over. He goes missing and when he is found he just isn't the same. Can love and friendship save him or will his life be changed forever.

Shana Pennington-Baird as the narrator is wonderful she brings so much life to each character. It is easy to tell her males from her females as she creates and gives life to all that is around them. Her voices has even tones with just the right about of emotion for each that you know what they are feeling and where their thoughts are. There is no background noise and no breaks that you can tell. Here tones are even as if she read the book all at one setting. I have listened to a few from this author and have enjoyed every book she has narrated.

The author gives you a wonderful story of people from different lifestyles who come together to make a family as they fight the "others" it is a toss up to who the winner will be. No matter who wins so much will be lost. The author gives out more details as she builds up the series but is still holding her cards close to her chest. She has answered a few questions only leaving you with more unanswered. This is sure a puzzle that the pieces do not fit. I have my guesses but I could be way off base. I can't wait to see how Rachel plays in all of this, There is so much mystery over why her mother will not talk about her parents and what about Rachel's birth? Something is way off there and I want some answers as does Rachel.

I really enjoy these characters as the serve and protect each other. They have built a wonderful home as they bring all the strange into it they have built a family. I cannot wait to see where the author takes this book with the next installment we will be going into the labs. I can't not wait to see what they are like and what all is in there. I guess you could read this as a standalone but I fear you would be lost even with the author giving some background from the first book. I am really hooked on this series. If you are looking for a book that is different and not like others of this nature give this series a try.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews