• by Michael Crichton
  • Narrated by Julia Whelan
  • 10 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Deep in the African rain forest, near the legendary ruins of the Lost City of Zinj, an expedition of eight American geologists are mysteriously and brutally killed in a matter of minutes.
Ten thousand miles away, Karen Ross, the Congo Project Supervisor, watches a gruesome video transmission of the aftermath: a camp destroyed, tents crushed and torn, equipment scattered in the mud alongside dead bodies - all motionless except for one moving image - a grainy, dark, man-shaped blur.
In San Francisco, primatologist Peter Elliot works with Amy, a gorilla with an extraordinary vocabulary of 620 "signs," the most ever learned by a primate, and she likes to finger paint. But recently her behavior has been erratic and her drawings match, with stunning accuracy, the brittle pages of a Portuguese print dating back to 1642…a drawing of an ancient lost city. A new expedition - along with Amy - is sent into the Congo, where they enter a secret world, and the only way out may be through a horrifying death.....
Congo was adapted to the screen and directed by Frank Marshall.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic - better the second time around

I originally read this 20 years ago and have recently started re-listening to Michael Crichton books this year. Congo is one of the best books, in my opinion, that Crichton ever wrote. Great character development, realistic mix of science / fantasy, and steady plot development.
Read full review

- hgpilot - MM


I enjoyed this book a lot, the performance was actually quite good. My problem is that for me, it's difficult to hear a female narrator performing as a male, it just doesn't sound right. I compare it to my wife trying to sound like a man, she just can't do it - no matter how hard she tries. This was the same for me. I was able to finish it, and really loved it overall.
Read full review

- ZeroQuest

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-06-2015
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio