Citadel : Troy Rising

  • by John Ringo
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Troy Rising
  • 15 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Of all the hosts of Eurotas, the Troias were the most fell. For they were born of Winter.
Between the Solar Array Pumped Laser and Troy, the two-trillion-ton nickel-iron battlestation created by eccentric billionaire Tyler Vernon, Earth has managed to recapture the Sol system from their Horvath conquerors and has begun entering the galactic millieu. But when the Rangora Empire rapidly crushes humanity's only ally, it becomes clear the war is just beginning.
At the heart of nickel, iron, and starlight are the people, Marines, Navy, and civilians who make Troy a living, breathing, engine of war. Survivors of apocalypse, they know the cost of failure. If this Troy falls, no one will be left to write the epic.
Citadel continues the saga begun in Live Free or Die, following the paths of several characters during the first years of The Spiral Arm Wars, culminating in the First Battle of E Eridani.


What the Critics Say

"[Boyett's] voice is clear, and he affects slightly different voices to differentiate between the various characters. The overall result is effective, and listeners will be drawn in." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


The book starts out slow for a Ringo sequel, but all that time is spent introducing two new main characters. There is a bit of over-lap with the first book to introduce the new characters, then the book takes off into new areas. If you're not a Ringo fan, then this book isn't for you. I've listened to all his books, and this one is one of the better ones.
Read full review

- David

another great story, with new characters

So you have to read the first book "Live Free or Die" before this one, if you have then there is no reason you shouldnt be getting this book

The beginning is another view of what happened in the last chapters of the first book and introduces some new characters - you have Butch and Dana or "Comet" as she is called after what happened in the end of the first book and described in detail in the beginning of this book

The story continues more or less and there are a couple more battles ending in one crazy battle - I thought this was very well, there were those parts where it would jump forward months or years in a single chapter but its OK and as Tyler would put it "fiddly bits" - but because of this it was sorta like an abridged book even though it wasnt, its not like stuff was missing or not explained but more like you wish that there had been more of it, and the parts that were skipped were really construction parts with not a whole lot of exciting stuff in there but I am sure something cool could have been done

In this book Tyler is still in charge of most of everything but the government has control over the SAPL and other things Tyler built when there is a battle going on - there have been over a billion people killed in the plague that the Horvath unleashed in the first book and its not really a bad thing - it was mostly old people and people who were in poor health and people with crazy beliefs that didnt want the treatment - it resulted in what is called "johansens syndrome" for all surviving females, its basally that they go into "heat" when they have there period and want sex - and it turned all females into "17 year old males with choice" for about a week every month - this could be removed with gene therapy which was really expensive and was done for all women going into the service or working in space for obvious reasons, they cant have someone they just spent millions on to train get pregnant and have to take time off

highly recommended
Read full review

- Colin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-03-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios