Christian Nation

  • by Frederic C. Rich
  • Narrated by Oliver Wyman
  • 14 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

“They said what they would do, and we did not listen. Then they did what they said they would do.”
So ends the first chapter of this brilliantly listenable counterfactual novel, reminding us that America’s Christian fundamentalists have been consistently clear about their vision for a "Christian Nation" and dead serious about acquiring the political power to achieve it. When President McCain dies and Sarah Palin becomes president, the listener, along with the nation, stumbles down a terrifyingly credible path toward theocracy, realizing too late that the Christian right meant precisely what it said.
In the spirit of Philip Roth’s The Plot Against America, one of America’s foremost lawyers lays out in chilling detail what such a future might look like: Constitutional protections dismantled; all aspects of life dominated by an authoritarian law called “The Blessing,” enforced by a totally integrated digital world known as the "Purity Web." Listeners will find themselves haunted by the questions the narrator struggles to answer in this fictional memoir: "What happened, why did it happen, and how could it have happened?"


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

You will either love or hate this book

If you love this book - you will also be very scared. I guess if you hate this book you would be hopeful that it's story might come to pass.
Read full review

- Allan

Scary Yet Engrossing

Any additional comments?

This was an incredibly good book. All of it seemed so plausible. In fact, at one point while I was listening to it, my wife (who had only heard a few minutes of it) asked me if it was fiction or non-fiction. This is one of those books that some people will hate and others will love, so listen to it with an open mind. You'll find it an engrossing tale of where we could be headed as a country, or perhaps a cautionary one.

Read full review

- Lee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-18-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios