Chindi : Academy

  • by Jack McDevitt
  • Narrated by Khristine Hvam, Oliver Wyman
  • Series: Academy
  • 18 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?

More

What the Critics Say

"Chindi is an ambitious, exciting, big-idea hard-SF novel that ventures successfully into Rendezvous with Rama territory, and beyond." (Amazon.com review)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting premise, utterly pedestrian writing

I bought this book during one of Audible's $4.95 sales, and I'm happy I didn't pay more.

The blurb for the book sounded interesting, so I decided to take a chance on an unknown author. Sadly, this author's "tell, don't show" writing style did not appeal to me at all, and made for a plodding narrative pace. This is the kind of book where every character is introduced with a mini-bio, and you're told what kind of person he or she is. Which is necessary, I suppose, because their dialogue is pretty interchangable and doesn't serve to characterize the speakers, as better writers are wont to do.

I listened to the first hour, and decided to give up.
Read full review

- Karin W. "Fantasy and Romance Author"

Everything You Want in a Sci-Fi Novel

Would you consider the audio edition of Chindi to be better than the print version?

Comparing the audio version to the printed word is comparing apple to oranges, but the advantage to the audio version is the ability to continue to story while on the go. The written version is better curled up in bed with book in hand and a cup of tea on the night-stand.


What other book might you compare Chindi to and why?

Chindi follows in the tradition of Deepsix and Engines of the Gods, but only better. Jack McDevitt really hits his stride with this one.


What does Khristine Hvam and Oliver Wyman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Having two readers enhances the reading experience by breaking up the monotony and bringing the novel to life. Wyman's role is primarily delivering quotes during the chapter divisions and Hvan narrates the story..


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The excitement is sprinkled throughout the novel but reaches a major crescento as the expedition explores the Chindi vessel.


Any additional comments?

Chindi length is slightly greater than many of the Sci-fi novels and so the listener will invest extra time reaching the end, but the end is worth it.

Read full review

- Robert

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios