Chindi : Academy

  • by Jack McDevitt
  • Narrated by Khristine Hvam, Oliver Wyman
  • Series: Academy
  • 18 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The universe has been explored - and humanity has all but given up on finding other intelligent life. Then an alien satellite orbiting a distant star sends out an unreadable signal. Is it the final programmed gasp of an ancient, long-dead race? Or the first greeting of an undiscovered life form?

More

What the Critics Say

"Chindi is an ambitious, exciting, big-idea hard-SF novel that ventures successfully into Rendezvous with Rama territory, and beyond." (Amazon.com review)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Everything You Want in a Sci-Fi Novel

Would you consider the audio edition of Chindi to be better than the print version?

Comparing the audio version to the printed word is comparing apple to oranges, but the advantage to the audio version is the ability to continue to story while on the go. The written version is better curled up in bed with book in hand and a cup of tea on the night-stand.


What other book might you compare Chindi to and why?

Chindi follows in the tradition of Deepsix and Engines of the Gods, but only better. Jack McDevitt really hits his stride with this one.


What does Khristine Hvam and Oliver Wyman bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Having two readers enhances the reading experience by breaking up the monotony and bringing the novel to life. Wyman's role is primarily delivering quotes during the chapter divisions and Hvan narrates the story..


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The excitement is sprinkled throughout the novel but reaches a major crescento as the expedition explores the Chindi vessel.


Any additional comments?

Chindi length is slightly greater than many of the Sci-fi novels and so the listener will invest extra time reaching the end, but the end is worth it.

Read full review

- Robert

All around a fun novel, narrated well!

First - I really enjoyed Khristine Hvam's reading of the book. She does a very good job.
Second - yes, there is far too much time spent on one of the plot points (the rescue operation, as noted by others) - but getting to the plot device is fun adventure with some decent suspense along the way.
Third - if you can get past #2, Chindi is a pretty good adventure novel w/ some pretty interesting personalities in the characters, believable physics, a great heroine character with a catchy name (really, who names people "Hutch" these days? that's a hoot!)
Fourth - I'm about 85% through, and really looking forward to the culmination of the books' namesake - what is the purpose of the Chindi?
Read full review

- Don

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios