Chaos Awakens Trilogy

  • by Heath Pfaff
  • Narrated by Paul J. McSorley
  • 34 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Having two of his fingers cut off at an early age hadn't done much to make Xandrith an agreeable fellow. Besides marking him as a pariah and having him shunned by even his own family, it had also hurt. A lot. Being stripped of a few of his fingers and cast out of the Order of Mages had left him bitter and angry, but if there was any consolation to be had it was that he was doing rather well in his new line of work. While perforating people for money might not have been the most noble of callings, it was quite lucrative. Well, it had been quite lucrative.
In a conspiracy of fate seemingly beyond his control, Xan soon finds himself facing a dilemma of conscience, and that isn't something he's familiar with. One dilemma leads to another, and before long the mage-turned-assassin finds himself performing more and more honorable deeds. Worse yet, without even attempting to do so he manages to acquire friends and to develop a sense of compassion.
As Xan struggles with his burgeoning humanity, a terrible darkness begins to wake in the world. The Order of Mages, once an overbearing power of control, seems to be losing its grip as a terrifying doom of their own creation rises in the north. As if that isn't enough, the horror brought upon the world by the folly of the mages may be only the precursor to something far more sinister.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gave up partway through chapter two.

A trite, hackneyed, poorly-worded fantasy story. Awkward phrasings and thesaurus-driven attempts to vary language fall flat. As rich a landscape the genre of "fantasy" may be, the author simply falls back to boring, stereotypical concepts to decorate the clumsy narrative. For example, Orcs are present without introduction, leaning on the assumption of the audience's familiarity.

The narrator's performance doesn't help much either. Odd regional pronunciations (roof pronounced as something similar to "ruff") distract from the story every time they pop up. Cliche accents are offered as a sloppy means of varying one character's from another.

All in all, the entire experience was similar to listening to a recounting of someone's junior high school D&D campaign.
Read full review

- Christopher "I will never again knowingly purchase another title voiced by Scott Brick."

An Adventerous journey of an unlikely hero

If you could sum up Chaos Awakens Trilogy in three words, what would they be?

Addictive, engaging, and unique

Who was your favorite character and why?

Xandrith of course and his evolving identity. Faced with seemingly impossible obstacles, he never lost focus or hope. It may have waned, but was never lost even when his mind was broken.

Which scene was your favorite?

When Cassa shot him with an arrow during his attempt to hide and escape. It was kind of poetic, being shot by the woman who would become his love.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Darkness Falls and Chaos Awakens

Any additional comments?

Although I loved it, was a little uncomfortable with the Hayley/Daisy part being a love interest, even if it is one sided. It was a little on the verge of pedophilia. Not impressed with that part. I could have done with out it. Yes young girls have crushes, but in her case, esp. after just being a family girl and then being tortured and rape, most victims would seek parental figures not lovers. She was too young to be in that mind frame. She would mostly fear men or hate them. Even if she began to trust him, those feelings would be more of wanting a father whom she just lost, a protector. So I didn't care for those insinuations.

Read full review

- Athena N Rose

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-07-2015
  • Publisher: Heath Pfaff