Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Lady Dame Honor Harrington - starship captain, admiral, Steadholder, and Duchess - has spent decades defending the Star Kingdom of Manticore against all comers. Along the way, she has become the legend known as "the Salamander" from her habit of always being where the fire is hottest... and also from being a national best seller (Ashes of Victory).
But it's a big universe, and Honor's actions affect a lot of lives, not all of them human. And their actions affect her - a lesson "Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington" learns years before rising to command rank, when a desperate battle against "pirates" who aren't quite what they seem begins her brilliant career. Closer to home, in "Changer of Worlds" a secret that the alien treecats have kept from their human friends for hundreds of years is about to come out... and completely change the relationship between the two species forever.
Meanwhile, Eric Flint weighs in with "From the Highlands". Honor can't be everywhere, so when the People's Republic of Haven tries to stage a political assassination on Earth, Anton Zilwicki - husband of one of the Star Kingdom's most revered military martyrs, and father of a young woman who is clearly a chip off the old block - steps into the breach... and takes the opportunity to settle some old scores along the way. And finally, Esther McQueen and Oscar Saint-Just square off for their final confrontation in Noveau Paris in "Nightfall".
©2001 David Weber, Eric Flint (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 02-25-13

Great to learn more about Honor Harrington

This is a collection of short stories that fill in some of the gaps in the Honor Harrington series. You must have read the series or else you will be lost. The first book in the HH series starts with Honor as captain of her own ship. This story tells of Honors "snotty" cruise as a Midshipman. We can see the beginnings of her development into a great naval officer. Glad that they kept Allyson Johnson narrating the story of Midshipman Harrington. Johnson is the voice of Honor Harrington. The short story about the tree cats tells about when Harrington returns to Sphinx and Nimitz takes Samantha to meet his clan and encourage some of them to follow him and his kittens to Grayson. In the series it never explained how they got the other tree cats to come with them.
"From the Highlands" tells the early story of Anton Zilwicki and daughter Helen. In the series we saw the death of Anton's wife Captain Helen Zilwicki who is escorting a convoy of Manticor ships (one carries her husband and child) when the PEEP hit the convoy.
Helen (daughter) is kidnapped in this story (often referred to in the series) and the Countess or Tor, Anton, Jeremy X and Victor Cachat rescue her. We are introduced to Berry and Lars who was featured in another sub-series.
The last short story is about Admiral McQueen"s over throw of Oscar St Just's PEEP government.
All stories fill in information to the main series and also leave room for lots more stories.
All the narrators did a good job.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By ShySusan on 10-08-12

The Eric Flint story alone is worth your credit.

This is another anthology in David Weber's Honorverse. If you are unfamiliar with the Honorverse, this is not the place to start. "On Basilisk Station" is the book to start with. I will review the stories individually:

This tells the story of Honor Harrington's midshipman's cruise. This is a cruise that acts as the final exam for students at Manticore's naval academy. The editorial review calls this a short novel, and it is rather long. I liked the first part where Honor is adjusting to life on board the ship. Then there is a longish middle section that I found quite dull in which we hear over and over again how stupid her supervisor is. Weber keeps telling us that he is supported by his friends in the aristocracy, but I had trouble believing that any help short of God's could have gotten someone this stupid through a supposedly challenging naval academy and then years and years aboard ship. And having read all the novels, I know that he will eventually become an admiral. My inability to believe in all that, made this section of the story irritating to listen to. But then at the end, Weber comes through with some great action again, so the story isn't a complete loss. My score: 2.5 stars

"CHANGER OF WORLDS" by David Weber
If you have read the books, you know that Honor's treecat finds a mate. This tells the story of what happens when Honor takes them back to Sphinx where they go to introduce Nimitz's new mate to his clan. It wasn't a long story, but it was all talk. No action. If you love the Honorverse, you want to know the information that is conveyed in this story, but frankly it's not all that thrilling a read. My score: 3 stars

It is worth getting this anthology for this story alone. It is a long story. It involves Anton Zilwicki, whose wife was killed in protecting her convoy from Havenites. And it involves Victor Cachat, the Havenite spy. In this story, Zilwicki's daughter is kidnapped. Will he be able to get her back? After listening to this, if you want to hear about the future adventures of Cachat and the Zilwickis, you will want to get and read: "The Fanatic," a story in THE SERVICE OF THE SWORD: WORLDS OF HONOR #4. Next, get CROWN OF SLAVES and TORCH OF FREEDOM. My score: 5 stars

"NIGHTFALL" by David Weber
This tells the story of Esther McQueen's attempted coup. I don't particularly like the long passages in Weber's novels which take place among the people of Haven, so I have chosen not to listen to this story.

Read More Hide me

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc