Cetaganda : Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)

  • by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Narrated by Grover Gardner
  • Series: Vorkosigan Saga (chronological)
  • 9 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When the Cetagandan empress dies, Miles Vorkosigan and his cousin Ivan are sent to Cetaganda for her funeral as diplomatic representatives of Barrayar. Upon arrival, the two men are inexplicably attacked by a servant of the late empress. When the same servant turns up dead the next day, Miles and Ivan find themselves in the middle of a mystery. Miles tries to play detective in a strange, complicated, and deceptively alien culture, while lascivious Ivan manages to get himself involved with several noble females at the same time, a diplomatic no-no of the first order. As the plot thickens, it becomes clear that it's up to Miles to save the empire. With her usual skill, Bujold addresses timeless issues of human identity through the personal dramas of her characters.


What the Critics Say

"Set in a vividly realized world where Machiavellian intrigues are played out behind a facade of aristocratic discretion, this novel, like its predecessors, blends high adventure with wry commentary on the seemingly unbridgeable gulf between human ideals and political realities." (Publishers Weekly)
"[Even] readers who normally eschew science fiction will delight in Bujold's intriguing plots, appealing characters, and wry humor." (Library Journal)
"As witty and well-handled as is usual for Bujold....In the wake of Bujold's new Hugo, even greater swarms of readers will flock to this book and swell even more the number of her fans, which is only what she richly deserves." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I could't put it down

Apparently there are more written book in the series but we don't have them here. The important thing is that the books listed below follow a sequence. (Wouldn't it be nice if someone were to add numbers to the books titles so as to make this less confusing, hint hint)
book 1) Warriors Apprentice
book 2) The Vor Game
book 3) Cetaganda

..as a side thought, it isn't that much that Miles is snooty(er) in this book, it's just the way the author reads it. It makes everyone sound snooty.
Read full review

- L. Lipp

Miles will be Miles!

If you're at all familiar with the Miles Vorkosigan saga you will be drawn into this audiobook immediately and recognize the Machiavellian intrigue and humor Lois Bujold breaths into her stories. Having read the excellent novel, this audio edition holds up extremely well. The reader, Grover Gardner, brings nuance to the characters and expression to the story to make for an enjoyable listen. This is classic adventure story telling at its best. The pace is brisk. Miles is a reluctant hero, at times arrogant, who drags himself and those close to him through near fatal scrapes and adventures. As always, he must overcome his physical handicaps, convince others to follow him, and solve some tough puzzles to win the day. Yes, he does talk to himself frequently...this insight into his psyche is both humorous and enlightening. Frankly, I think this helps endear him to his fans. Audible should make the entire Miles Vorkosigan series available so listeners can hear them in sequence and fully appreciate this fantastic universe Lois Bujold has created.
Read full review

- D Jones "DP Jones"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-26-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.