Center of Gravity: Star Carrier, Book Two : Star Carrier

  • by Ian Douglas
  • Narrated by Nick Sullivan
  • Series: Star Carrier
  • 13 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the evolution of every sentient race, there is a turning point when the species achieves transcendence through technology. The warlike Sh'daar are determined that this monumental milestone will never be achieved by the creatures known as human.
On the far side of known human space, the Marines are under siege, battling the relentless servant races of the Sh'daar aggressor. With a task force stripped to the bone and the Terran Confederation of States racked by dissent, rogue Admiral Alexander Koenig must make the momentous decision that will seal his fate and the fate of humankind. A strong defensive posture is futile, so Koenig will seize the initiative and turn the gargantuan Star Carrier America toward the unknown. For the element of surprise is the only hope of stalling the Sh'daar assault on Earth's solar system - and the war for humankind's survival must be taken directly to the enemy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

If you enjoyed the 1st installment...

You'll enjoy this one. Same generic plot, same boilerplate characters, same breakneck space battles that are highly entertaining, etc.... However I'd say this book is roughly 50% space battle where the first book was 75%. There is a bit more downtime and an attempt to flesh out characters, aliens, and the conflict. A nice attempt, but nothing surprising.

Once again a very decent performance from Nick Sullivan.

Biggest gripe: like the first book, Ian Douglas explains everything over and over and over. How many time do we need explained that a VC-10 CRATE missile has a variable yield warhead and can accelerate at 5000G? Really?
Read full review

- spacecasecake

round 2 well done.

narrator does a great job. story continues to move and the pace just keeps on!
Read full review

- Steven T. Voboril

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-19-2011
  • Publisher: HarperCollins