Calamity : Reckoners

  • by Brandon Sanderson
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Reckoners
  • 12 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of the Mistborn series and Words of Radiance comes Calamity, the final book in the New York Times best-selling Reckoners series. What started in the instant number-one New York Times best seller Steelheart and continued in the instant number-one New York Times best seller Firefight now concludes in Calamity.
When Calamity lit up the sky, the Epics were born. David's fate has been tied to their villainy ever since that historic night. Steelheart killed his father. Firefight stole his heart. And now Regalia has turned his closest ally into a dangerous enemy.
David knew Prof's secret and kept it even when Prof struggled to control the effects of his Epic powers. But facing Obliteration in Babilar was too much. Once the Reckoners' leader, Prof has now embraced his Epic destiny. He's disappeared into those murky shadows of menace Epics are infamous for the world over, and everyone knows there's no turning back....
But everyone is wrong. Redemption is possible for Epics - Megan proved it. They're not lost. Not completely. And David is just about crazy enough to face down the most powerful High Epic of all to get his friend back. Or die trying.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wow, just wow!

The adventure continues in Brandon Sanderson’s amazing and highly imaginative superhero series The Reckoners. Picking up after a short amount of time has passed since the drama that ensued in FireFight. Prof is a full blown evil epic that has an intricate plan, one that was layed out for him in the previous book.

Without giving anything away I will say this. The mystery of the epic named Calamity is revealed. The secret to the power of the epics is fully disclosed, along with why they go mad when they use their powers. I am not sure if I have daddy issues or something, but the final moments of this audiobook had me in tears, literally sobbing. Pulled my heart out, passed it around for all to see and shoved it back in my chest.

While Calamity wraps up the series pretty well I really hope that Sanderson keeps going with his extraordinary series. It touches everything that I love about audio books. From well-developed characters to really evil bad guys, bad guys that are not all evil, gut-wrenching action, a tolerable love story, tear-jerking emotional bits. And all of this is done while keeping a light-heated attitude towards the story-line.

All that being said. Sanderson had a much deeper exploration going on here. Not only scrutinizing the dark side of human nature. But also shedding light on the good of humanity, the good that happens only when there are no outside influences.

If you have listened to the previous audiobooks and the novella in this series, getting and listening to this one is a no brainer. If you haven’t yet. Please do if you want a unbelievable adventure for the imagination, start at the beginning.

Hands down. This has to be one of, if not the best single narrator performances I’ve ever heard. Macleod Andrews put everything he had into his performance. Not only does he have very well developed characterizations for all of the players, he went the extra distance with this one. Laughing, yelling, grunting, actually sneezing, and I would put money on that he was crying at one point, because I know I was. This performance proves to me once again why Andrews is at near the top of the narrator’s that I keep an eye out for new work.

Audiobook was purchased for review by ABR.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]
Read full review

- AudioBook Reviewer "All of my reviews are on my blog audiobookreviewer dot com"

Climactic Battles Second Chances? as Calamity Ends

When last we left the Reckoners their leader Jonathan Phaedrus had given into his powers. Now David Charleston, “The Steelslayer,” is out to prove that Epics can be redeemed. He and his crew of Epic killers travel to the city of Ildithia, formerly known as Atlanta but now located in Kansas (you’ll find out why and how), where a series of raids, chases, rescues, and stunningly destructive spectacles of both magic and high tech gizmos arises; comic book action at its finest.
This is a terrific ending to a fantastic trilogy and the final outcome was surprising. Like most of Brandon Sanderson’s books the writing is never boring and the narrator, MacLeod Andrews, gives another great performance. I would recommend this trilogy to anyone that likes this genre.
Read full review

- D "I read, I write; I listen"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-16-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios