Brotherhood of the Wolf : Runelords

  • by David Farland
  • Narrated by Ray Porter
  • Series: Runelords
  • 22 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

David Farland delivers the second in his high fantasy Runelords series, featuring a complex system of magic and a wondrous, expertly realized world. Raj Ahten, ruler of Indhopal, has used enough forcibles to transform himself into the ultimate warrior: the Sum of All Men. Ahten seeks to bring all of humanity under his rule, destroying anyone in his path. But young Prince Gaborn has fulfilled a 2000-year-old prophecy and become the Earth King, a mythic figure who can unleash the forces of the Earth itself. He has managed to drive off Raj Ahten, but Ahten is far from defeated. Striking at far-flung cities and fortresses, Ahten seeks to draw out the Earth King from his seat of power and to crush him. But as they weaken each other's forces in battle, the armies of an ancient and implacable inhuman enemy issue forth from the very bowels of the Earth.


What the Critics Say

"Substantial plotting, inventive magics, and enough fighting to gratify the most bloodthirsty fan." (Kirkus Reviews)
"Farland's action-packed climax is gripping...." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


If you liked book one, you should like this. If you did not like book one, this you will not like. I should have liked both books. Stealing other people's endowments, metabolism, glamour, strength, stamina etc... sounds right down my alley. I think it might have been if there had been less explaining. David Farland isn't any better a writer than Dave Wolverton. Farland/Woverton has some great ideas, just needs less splaining, Lucy.

He could not save this book, but he helped.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"


This is a great book, its quite a bit better than the first and really serves to flesh out the world and magic, whereas the first book is mostly constrained to a small area of a single country this one wanders around quite a bit. The entire plot of this book takes place in the span of just over a week, starting immediately from where the first book left off - yet so much happens that there is never a dull moment.

The only problem with this series is that it turns out their are 8 of them in total, with the latest one to be published in October of this year (2009), and as of this review only the first two books exist in audio format. So if you want a series you can read strait through you might want to stick these on your wish list for now and check back later. This is definitely one to pick up though, the scope and quality are nearly on par with authors like Robert Jordan - and I truly don't say that lightly.

Read full review

- Jake

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-06-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.