Regular price: $18.16

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.16

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The popular adventures of Miles Vorkosigan, a clever and outlandish science fiction hero for the modern era, continue in these three tales. In The Mountains of Mourning, Miles is dispatched to a back-country region of Barrayar, where he must act as detective, judge, and executioner in a controversial murder case.
In Labyrinth, Miles adopts his alternate persona as Dendarii Mercenary Admiral Naismith for an undercover mission to rescue an important research geneticist from Jackson’s Whole. And in the title story, Miles infiltrates an escape-proof Cetagandan POW camp and plays hero to the most deeply distressed damsel of his colorful career.
Lois McMaster Bujold burst upon the science fiction world in 1986 with Shards of Honor, the first of the Vorkosigan Saga novels. She has won the Hugo Award four times and the Nebula Award twice. The mother of two, she lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
©1989 2007 by Lois McMaster Bujold (P)2010 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

“Essential for all sf collections.” ( Library Journal)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Alexis on 06-17-12

Book Order is Important!

Read this book before "Brothers in Arms!"

This a collection of three shorter stories originally published separately. To make them look like a more coherent collection, the stories are presented as "reports" Miles is giving to his IMPSEC superior.

In the grander scheme of things "Mountains of Mourning" takes place just after "Warrior's Apprentice." While fans will be interested (and if you've gotten this far, you're a fan), this is a story you can go back and catch a few books down the road. It was originally in limited publication and wasn't designed to leave anyone behind who hadn't read it.

Both "Labyrinth" and the title story, "Borders of Infinity," are stories where Miles is the main character and take place after "Cetaganda." These two stories both contain material I would have been upset to have missed if I hadn't read them in the proper order! The former introduces characters and background information that are very important to later books, and the later feeds directly into the next book in the storyline, "Brothers in Arms."

So I repeat, read this collection just before reading "Brothers in Arms!" Audible's series list for this one is a bit off, so don't be lead astray!

And as you can probably guess, I'm a HUGE fan. Love the series, love the author, and the narrator's slightly old-timey delivery is the perfect backdrop for a series that turns the early sci-fi themes on their ears.

Read More Hide me

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By DERALD on 06-06-10

Even better than expected

Thank you Lois, you sounded like Churchill in some of Miles pep talks filled with fire and physicological wisdom. Expected some loose ends of incomplete stories but all three stories were rich, powerful Miles adventures up to your usual standards.Really enjoyed it. P.S. The book is not 7 hours but 9 1/2 hrs. of great reading

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Catriona on 05-02-12

I can just keep coming back to her books

It's difficult to say what it is about Bujold's books that keeps me coming back. Each time there's a turn of phrase or an insight that comes fresh.
It was such a delight when I realised that, where I thought I'd heard all the Vorkosigan audio books (having read them as hard copy in any event) there was this one I'd missed.
This is a series of short stories which might lead those unfamiliar with the series into wanting more or fills in some gaps they might not even have known were there for those who do know the other books.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 02-01-16

Brilliant. .!!!

Read these years ago...except for labyrinth. I am complete :)Miles Vorkosigan at his always. onward to the next one.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc