Blades of Magic: Crown Service, Book 1 : Crown Service

  • by Terah Edun
  • Narrated by Sylvia Roldn Dohi
  • Series: Crown Service
  • 8 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Blades of Magic by Terah Edun is a rich epic fantasy perfect for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns and Mistborn.
It is not a peaceful time in the Algardis Empire. War is raging between the mages and seventeen-year-old Sara Fairchild will be right in the middle of it. She just doesn't know it yet.
Sara is the daughter of a disgraced imperial commander, executed for desertion. Sara is also the best duelist and hand-to-hand combatant in Sandrin. She lives quietly with her family's shame but when challenged about her family's honor, her opponent inevitably loses. On the night she finds out her father's true last actions, she takes the Mercenary Guilds' vows to serve in the emperor's army. Using her quick wits and fierce fighting skills, she earns a spot in the first division. There she discovers secrets the mages on both sides would prefer stay hidden. Dark enemies hunt her and soon it's not just Sara questioning the motivation behind this war.
While fighting mages, blackmailing merchants and discovering new friends, Sara comes across something she's never had before - passion. The question is - can she fight for her empress against a mage who might unwittingly claim her heart?
This is year one of the Initiate Wars. Sara is hoping it doesn't become the year she dies. On the night she finds out her father's true last actions, she takes the Mercenary Guilds' vows to serve in the emperor's army. Using her quick wits and fierce fighting skills, she earns a spot in the first division. There she discovers secrets the mages on both sides would prefer stay hidden. Dark enemies hunt her and soon it's not just Sara questioning the motivation behind this war.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An imaginative read.

Any additional comments?

This is my first Terah Edun book but it definitely won't be my last. I thoroughly enjoyed it. You are brought into the story right from the start and its pretty much a non stop, action packed, roller coaster.

I loved the MC Sara. She was totally kick ass. Despite what everyone thinks about her father, she knows that deep down if he did desert then he had a really good reason to. I admired her faith in him and her tenacity to prove him innocent.

I also love Saras' powers. The idea of her powers, if used constantly, could possibly make her become a beserker was unique and quite awesome! Not only does she battle the people who want to harm her everyday, she also battles her powers and fears.

Ezekiel was awesome too!! He was witty, kind, clever and an all round great person to know. I loved seeing both of them together and seeing their friendship blossom.

The plot was really fast paced and gripping. Poor Sara is put through the paces the whole way through. She is first hired as a watcher (a security guard for magical items). During this time she is forced to guard certain items multiple times, then she learns that her dad may be innocent and ends up as a mercenary to try to get information, then she is sent to a battlefield!! It was so fast paced but also well thought out and developed.

In all I really enjoyed this and will definitely keep on with the series. There are plenty of answers still to come!!

The audio of this was fantastic. The narrator nailed Saras' spunkieness perfectly. She gave each character their own "voice" so it was really easy to differentiate each one.

*I received this for review as part of a blog tour. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

Read full review

- Natalie @ BookLoversLife

Superb YA Fantasy !

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes I would because the action and narration just pulls you into the story and makes you feel like you are next to each character.


Any additional comments?

This is my first time ever listening to an audiobook completely because I tend to get annoyed with them, but this was absolutely stunning. The narrator, Sylvia, did an absolutely fantastic job at making me feel like I was surrounded by the world and characters.

Sara is a fantastic character. I loved her determination despite all that she went through. Even being introduced to her was dramatic in a way that made me connect with her straight on. Sara's sword fighting ability was amazing, not to mention the fascinating way she controlled her magic. Sara was simply kickass. I also loved Ezekiel. He was so funny and he seemed like he was a bit dim-witted, but there is so much going on with him that it feels as if he's two different people.

The combination of action and mystery, magic and drama kept me hooked and wanting to know more about the world and characters. I've enjoyed both the story and the characters alongside the narration of this beauty.

I definitely plan to check out the sequel as an audiobook because it's absolutely fun to read and Sara is just simply amazing.

Read full review

- Nay Denise

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2014
  • Publisher: Terah Edun