Beggars in Spain

  • by Nancy Kress
  • Narrated by Cassandra Campbell
  • 16 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a world where the slightest edge can mean the difference between success and failure, Leisha Camden is beautiful, extraordinarily intelligent, and one of a growing number of human beings who have been genetically modified to never require sleep.
Once considered interesting anomalies, now Leisha and the other "Sleepless" are outcasts, victims of blind hatred, political repression, and shocking mob violence meant to drive them from human society and, ultimately, from Earth itself.
But Leisha Camden has chosen to remain behind in a world that envies and fears her "gift," a world marked for destruction by a deadly conspiracy of freedom and revenge.


What the Critics Say

"Superb....An exquisite saga of biological advantages." (Denver Post)
"A depth of imagination unusual even among science fiction writers." (Analog)
"[T]hrilling drama, compelling dialectic." (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story, very well read

This is the first Nancy Kress book I've encountered, and its brilliant. She asks the question "What would the world be like if some people did not need sleep, were much smarter than everyone else, and did not grow old?" The characters are multi-dimensional and compelling, and the plot engaging. Cassandra Campbell does an amazing job of telling the story, with excellent voices and a great understanding of the book. I highly recommend it.
Read full review

- James Davenport

Pleasantly Surprised

This book was kind of an impulse-buy for me, and I'm very glad I took a chance.

The premise of the book is very good, but the execution is absolutely wonderful. The tone of the book is a little melancholy, but is not overly dark or negative.

I haven't read any of Nancy Kress's books until now, but I'm looking forward to picking up the sequels that finish this trilogy.
Read full review

- Rachelle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-25-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.