Beacon 23: The Complete Novel

  • by Hugh Howey
  • Narrated by Ryan McCarthy
  • 6 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This work contains the five Beacon 23 stories, originally released in serialized form.
For centuries, men and women have manned lighthouses to ensure the safe passage of ships. It's a lonely job, and a thankless one for the most part - until something goes wrong, until a ship is in distress.
In the 23rd century, this job has moved into outer space. A network of beacons allows ships to travel across the Milky Way at many times the speed of light. These beacons are built to be robust. They never break down. They never fail.
At least, they aren't supposed to.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sanity and happiness are an impossible combination

Much like light houses in our current world, in the vase sea of space there are beacons to guide ships along safe passages. Digger is the man who monitors beacon 23; it is a lonely job with minimal contact with others. The problem is, spending that much time with only your dark thoughts as company can break a man, or make him crazy.

First, this is 5 stand alone stories compiled, therefore after listening to the first story all subsequent stories will re-introduce you to information you've already learned, making them a little redundant.

At the beginning I had to rewind a few times because the narrator was so intense that I almost felt overwhelmed and confused, and I was worried I was missing things. I grew to appreciate the intensity and commitment of Ryan McCarthy's interpretation of Digger; the narration was the thing that I enjoyed most about this book.

Since each story should stand alone I would expect it to be more eventful, but I found this omnibus to be anti-climactic. I'd never read a book by Hugh Howey before but I've heard a lot of great things and I was very excited for this book, but at the end I felt unimpressed and underwhelmed.

Conclusion: Very strong narration. Good character development through the first two stories, and some of the third but takes a turn after that. I don't think all of the stories are worth listening to, but I don't think it's a lost cause.
Read full review

- Claudia H

Howey Rocks!!

It was just last summer I got turned onto "Wool" by Hugh Howey & it was stellar. Loved it and it's subsequent tomes enough to search out every last word I could find by the guy & so far it's all been fantastic. These stories have such interesting and unique plots, very fresh in a genre with a lot of stale ideas. Also while this is being presented as a novel it, like his "Silo Saga" stories, was originally released in serial form in digital & paper publications and I feel as though that lends something to the final product as a whole. Have to test that theory out. Anyways a great book thats well read and will surely entertain you!
Read full review

- Suzanne E. Lemmon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-20-2015
  • Publisher: Broad Reach Publishing