Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone. Animals have nothing interesting to say, and no one can see the future because it has not been written," growled Balfruss. "It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand. When you fight magic with magic, nothing is certain."
Balfruss is a battlemage, one of a vanishing breed, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears and despises him.
Vargus is a soldier, and while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he's down in the frontlines getting blood on his blade.
Talandra is a princess and her father's spymaster, but the war may force her to take up a greater responsibility and make the greatest sacrifice of all.
Known for their unpredictable, dangerous power, society has left battlemages untrained and shunned. But when a force unlike anything ever imagined attacks their home, the few remaining magic users must go to war - to save those who fear them most and herald in a new age of peace, built upon the corpses of their enemies.
©2015 Stephen Aryan (P)2015 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Nikki Chenard on 06-27-16

I hung on every word. . .

As an avid audio book listener and lover of the epic fantasy genre, it's not often I find a gem like this book. Not only was the tale enthralling, but it was well put together, the characters were amazing, and it was action packed, thrilling, with a side of sexy.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lawton on 02-17-17

Great for fans of Song of Fire and Ice

great story, very compelling and excellent performance. would definitely read again and already have the next book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 03-24-16

Very gritty magic

Good book, amazing voice actor. Maybe a bit of gore glorification, but I get why. Imparts the brutality of war and magic well.

Read More Hide me

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Aaron on 09-19-16

Had its moments, but a little bland.

Firstly the narration was quite good, a little monotone at times, but didn't detract from the story.

Story was ok, but there was really only a few moments when something actually happened. Instead I had to listen to what I assume is setup for the next book. The problem with this is that only a couple of characters are interesting because they are the only ones really involved in any action.

I just felt like the author had an idea for a good ending and the whole book was just about getting there, with very little happening in between.

Read More Hide me

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Nihal Albuquerque on 06-26-17

alright story.

good performance, the story was alright nothing special and the characters were okay. may be the next book will be better.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Alex on 08-16-16

awsome

easy to listen to and love the concepts. I think suited to younger readers but all in all loved it

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc