Baptism of Fire : The Witcher Saga

  • by Andrzej Sapkowski
  • Narrated by Peter Kenny
  • Series: The Witcher Saga
  • 11 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling series that inspired the international hit videogame The Witcher.
The Wizard's Guild has been shattered by a coup, and in the uproar Geralt was seriously injured. The witcher is supposed to be a guardian of the innocent, a protector of those in need, a defender against powerful and dangerous monsters that prey on men in dark times.
But now that dark times have fallen upon the world, Geralt is helpless until he has recovered from his injuries.
While war rages across all of the lands, the future of magic is under threat, and those sorcerers who survive are determined to protect it. It's an impossible situation in which to find one girl - Ciri, the heiress to the throne of Cintra, has vanished - until a rumor places her in the Niflgaard court, preparing to marry the emperor.
Injured or not, Geralt has a rescue mission on his hands.
The witcher returns in this action-packed sequel to The Time of Contempt.


What the Critics Say

"The character interplay is complex, unsentimental and anchored in brutal shared history. All bodes well for twisty plotting to come." (SFX)
"Sapkowski revitalizes the genre with energetic and compelling writing. A breath of fresh air in a well-worn genre. Don't miss it!" (Dreamwatch)
"Like Mieville and Gaiman, Sapkowski takes the old and makes it new." (Foundation)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slow Read

Would you try another book from Andrzej Sapkowski and/or Peter Kenny?

I love all the previous Witcher books but this one drags. Nothing happens to further the overall plot of the series nor is there any kind of character development. It's Geralt lost in the woods trying to get to Circi. That's it. You can skip this book and go directly to the next one. Even the action doesn't save the book because there is almost none in it. I was disappointed because it just doesn't compare to any of the Witcher books.

Read full review

- Lisa

one of the best in the saga

For me, bof and tos are, by far, the high points in an already amazing saga.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio