Bandersnatch

  • by Diana Pavlac Glyer
  • Narrated by Michael Ward
  • 6 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Inklings met each week to read and discuss each other's work-in-progress, offering both encouragement and blistering critique. How did these conversations shape the books they were writing? How does creative collaboration enhance individual talent? And what can we learn from their example? Bandersnatch offers an inside look at the Inklings of Oxford, and a seat at their table at the Eagle and Child pub. It shows how encouragement and criticism made all the difference in The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, and dozens of other books written by the members of their circle. You'll learn what made these writers tick, and more: inspired by their example, you'll discover how collaboration can help your own creative process and lead to genius breakthroughs in whatever work you do.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of the best Inklings books ever

What made the experience of listening to Bandersnatch the most enjoyable?

Phenomenal research leads to a host of new information about CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien, and other Inklings. So well organized that you feel like you are easily following her outline. Extremely well read by Ward who is a Lewis scholar himself.


What did you like best about this story?

The research, new information, easily understood.


Which character – as performed by Michael Ward – was your favorite?

There are no characters but Ward's reading is exceptionally good.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If possible yes


Any additional comments?

I have read scores of books about the Inklings - this is one of the very best.

Read full review

- Stan

The Inklings and the Creative Process Opened Up

This book is honest, thoroughly insightful, and sympathetic to the subject. The obvious work of love represented by this book becomes clear when considering how many letters, and documents must have been reviewed, and analyzed in order to produce the understanding presented in the book.

Although this work will most likely appeal to fans of Tolkien and Lewis who want to understand their relationship and that of the Inklings, it should also be read by anyone interested in writing or undertaking a creative endeavor. The insight derived from the author's effort is immeasurably valuable in that regard.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-26-2016
  • Publisher: TreeHouseStudios