• Avogadro Corp

  • The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears
  • By: William Hertling
  • Narrated by: Rob Granniss
  • Series: Singularity, Book 1
  • Length: 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 09-24-12
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: William Hertling
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (887 ratings)

Regular price: $17.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.
David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.
©2011, 2012 William Hertling (P)2012 William Hertling
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews



Science Fiction DIY Book Festival, Winner, 2011-12
Gold Winner, Science Fiction Book of the Year, 2011
"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." (Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars)
"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go.” (Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author The Intelligent Organization)
"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." (Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Matthew on 12-26-12

Short but defintely sweet

What made the experience of listening to Avogadro Corp the most enjoyable?

The complexity of the story, and the obvious knowledge of the topic the author has, and carried forward to the story and the characters . Very enjoyable.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Avogadro Corp?

The very end. What the hell!!??!!

What does Rob Granniss bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He did a fine job activating the characters. They resonated well with me, and I am confident it will with you as well.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end, which moves pretty quick, but is a turn around that caught me off guard.

Any additional comments?

Not a huge stretch from our current reality. Recommended highly for tech thriller followers, and anyone else who enjoys near future forecast stories.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Richard on 05-22-14

William Hertling, my new favortive author!

This is a great book and overall an even better series of books.The author does a great job telling the story and keeping your attention. If you like sci-fi this is a great listen. Listened to the whole series and enjoyed every bit of it.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By R. ODELL on 05-23-17

Great story, found the voice a little monotone

I found the story interesting and exciting.
Unfortunately for me I found the voice a little monotone for my liking, but that's my personal taste I guess. No offence meant. Great story!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Karthik on 06-22-16

Amazing story!

Really good near future sci-fi, thrilling up until the last minute. Definitely recommended for sci-fi fans.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc