Avogadro Corp : Singularity

  • by William Hertling
  • Narrated by Rob Granniss
  • Series: Singularity
  • 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.
David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

More

What the Critics Say



Science Fiction DIY Book Festival, Winner, 2011-12
Gold Winner, Science Fiction Book of the Year, 2011
"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." (Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars)
"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don't start without the time to finish - it won't let you go.” (Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author The Intelligent Organization)
"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." (Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Short but defintely sweet

What made the experience of listening to Avogadro Corp the most enjoyable?

The complexity of the story, and the obvious knowledge of the topic the author has, and carried forward to the story and the characters . Very enjoyable.


What was one of the most memorable moments of Avogadro Corp?

The very end. What the hell!!??!!


What does Rob Granniss bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He did a fine job activating the characters. They resonated well with me, and I am confident it will with you as well.


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The end, which moves pretty quick, but is a turn around that caught me off guard.


Any additional comments?

Not a huge stretch from our current reality. Recommended highly for tech thriller followers, and anyone else who enjoys near future forecast stories.

Read full review

- Matthew

It's Strongly OK But...!

Okay here's another rouge AI intelligence set to battle mankind. Yep, I've read (or listened to) a dozen of these tales from lots of good authors. William Hertling's as good as all of them. But he was MUCH BETTER when he wrote "Kill Process". Perhaps it's because this vein has been mined by so many other great SciFi writers over the last half century? Maybe.

Still, Hertling's take is unique thanks to his deep knowledge of computer stuff. I'm not sure I'm sufficiently interested in the evolution of Hertling's "Singularity" as the ghost in the IT machinery to follow more of its adventures. But... I will definitely follow Angie Benenati's story as it evolves in sequels to "Kill Process". Oh, Rob Grannis is a good reader but no where near as talented as Jane Cramer in KP.

And that's my dilemma. Cramer narrates the last in this "Singularity" series begun here in "Alvagadro". Should I skip ahead to book 4: "The Touring Exception" (and I think the last) in this "Singularity" series just to enjoy Cramer? Will I miss too much by leap-frogging the two novels in the middle?

Got to think on that...
Read full review

- Ted

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-24-2012
  • Publisher: William Hertling