Aurora in Four Voices (Illinois Science Fiction in Chicago Press) : Skolian Empire (chronological order)

  • by Catherine Asaro
  • Narrated by Sylvia Roldan Dohi
  • Series: Skolian Empire (chronological order)
  • 12 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection of Catherine Asaro's show fiction contains five stories, including the Nebula Award-winning novella, Spacetime Pool, the Hugo and Nebula nominated novella Aurora in Four Voices, and an essay on Asaro's use of mathematics in her fiction.
The anthology also includes the critically acclaimed The City of Cries, which won the Prism Award for Best Novella and The Best of the Best in 2006, and the Book Buyers Best award for novella.
The City of Cries forms the beginning of Asaro's upcoming novel from Baen (Simon & Schuster).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good stories too painful to listen to.

This book emphasizes the importance of good narration. While the narrator was ok in the narrative voice, the character voices were absolutely painful. If I had not previously read Undercity, for example, (a very good book) I would never have purchased it after having read the first half of it here. On the other hand this book was a good look into the mind of Catherine Asaro.
Read full review

- Robin

This is an anthology!

This anthology contains two Skolian novellas: "Aurora in Four Voices" and "Light and Shadow" featuring Soz and Kelric, respectively, prior to Primary Inversion and The Last Hawk. Also "Ave de Paso" featuring Akushtina prior to Catch the Lightning. Additional novellas include The Spacetime Pool, of which Asaro is writing further; and City of Cries, which intros the Major Bhaajan, a SciFi P.I. Asaro has already written a followup novel, Undercity. Last, you also get her essay on "A Poetry of Angles" which is her math without the storyline.The narration works. Recommend.
Read full review

- IreneMBBT

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-03-2014
  • Publisher: Catherine Asaro