Assassin's Price : Imager Portfolio

  • by L. E. Modesitt
  • Narrated by William Dufris
  • Series: Imager Portfolio
  • 18 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Six years have passed since the failed uprising of the High Holders, and the man behind the conspiracy is where the rex and Maitre Alastar can keep an eye on him.
Charyn has come of age and desperately wants to learn more so that he can become an effective rex after his father - but he's kept at a distance by the rex. So Charyn sets out to educate himself - circumspectly.
When Jarolian privateers disrupt Solidar's shipping, someone attempts to kill Charyn's younger brother as an act of protest. Threatening notes follow in the wake of acts of violence against the rex and his family, demanding action - build more ships or expect someone to die.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Slower but not less interesting

The genius of the Imager books is how it restricts the near omnipotence of its protagonists through societal forces giving room to essentially medieval spy stories.
Assassin's Price is now the first book not staring an Imager as main protagonist and despite leading to a less action rich story it stays interesting. For series veterans - and frankly you should read all previous books before this one - it gives a fresh perspective on known characters. Despite the changes the new main character still fights with the limitations of his in theory unlimited powers as Rex of Solidar.

Also thanks to an excellent narrator each book of the series feels like coming home and while I prefer the action rich early books, I can suggest this to anyone who has followed the series up to this point. For newcomers too much familiarity with the characters is assumed. Not to mention that they can pick from better books I the series.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer


As always Modesitt never fails to write a great story, was definitely interesting that the main character wasn't an imager.
Read full review

- Anthony Quinn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-25-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio