Ascendant Sun : Skolian Empire (chronological order)

  • by Catherine Asaro
  • Narrated by Anna Fields
  • Series: Skolian Empire (chronological order)
  • 11 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ascendant Sun is the direct sequel to the Nebula Award finalist The Last Hawk. Kelric returns to Skolian space, only to find the Empire in control of the Allied forces of Earth, thanks to the upheaval of the Radiance War. With little more than the clothes on his back and with his family imprisoned by the Allieds, Kelric is forced to take work on a merchant vessel. But when that vessel enters Euban space, Kelric finds his worst nightmare realized: he is auctioned as a slave "provider" to the cruel Aristos, who subject slaves to torture and sex to provide their ultimate telepathic emotional drug.


What the Critics Say

"Yet another fast-paced and pleasing entry in the Saga of the Skolian Empire." (Publishers Weekly)
"The best of her Skolian Empire series. Asaro continues to oblige seekers of fast-paced entertainment with literate page-turners." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another Good Asaro Book

Enjoyed this one also. Decided to get the rest of the series in paperback. Now that I'm hooked on the Skolian story I just can't wait for Audible to trickle the books out.

Anna Fields' male voices weren't as bad as usual, but I wish she would not use the nasal teenage-boy voice for the main characters. Makes it difficult to take what they say seriously.
Read full review

- Don


Wow! Audible gets more Asaro books! While I'm not a huge fan of narrator (Anna Fields), this is a novel chock full of space opera goodness!
Read full review

- W

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2004
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.