Area X

  • by Jeff VanderMeer
  • Narrated by Carolyn McCormick, Bronson Pinchot, Xe Sands
  • 26 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If J. J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weisman collaborated on a series, it might be this awesome.
This collection includes all three novels in the epic Southern Reach trilogy: Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance. Praised for its evocative prose, chilling psychological twists, and intriguing story arc, this series has amassed high critical and popular acclaim, with book one landing on the New York Times best sellers list.
Dive into the mysteries of Area X, a remote and lush terrain that has inexplicably sequestered itself from civilization. Twelve expeditions have gone in, and not a single member of any of them has remained unchanged by the experience - for better or worse.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Book 1: intriguing! Book 2: Zzzz. Book 3: WTF!

This series starts off like "Lost" - mysterious place with lots of questions.
Book 2 is a slog. It's all inter-company squabbles of the Dharma Initiative.
Book 3 is decent with some action. A bit dreamy and weird and hard to follow but the answers are coming right? And then it ends so abruptly I actually yelled "WTF!" at my car stereo. If you want a great start that then will waste hours going absolutely nowhere... Area X is it.
Read full review

- Kelt so many ways...

Where does Area X rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Easily in the top 20, if not the top 15. If the ending was not so stark ( and that is being mild ) maybe even finer. The 3 different stories are disjointed to be sure, with different performers as well, but on balance this is an epic journey, and one well worth going on.

What did you like best about this story?

The underlying story is fascinating ( if not always clear ) but the most compelling piece is ( predictably of course ) the characters. Control...The Director...the Lighthouse Keeper. They truly DO stick with you, and you want to know...WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON??!!

Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favorite?

Wow, a difficult choice. As time wore on in this journey, the Director drew me in. Especially in the last book and how she was was portrayed. A wonderful journey with stunning performers. Carolyn McCormick turns in a scintillating performance.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Gosh, there as so many. Frankly, what moved me is the ending or the FRICKING LACK THEREOF.
Seriously, this is a long trilogy, and a serious commitment of emotional and personal energy To have the ending no spoiler here ! ) is maddening, for reasons that the next listeners will understand.

That may be petty, but as other reviews have noted, we require a 4th book, in the trilogy, if you know what I mean.

Otherwise, the resolution of book 1 is a moving piece.

Any additional comments?

My comments above capture my sentiments. This is an amazing work, marred only by the challenges already presented. I highly recommend this offering to any reader. It is worthy of your time, notwithstanding.

Read full review

- Matthew

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.