Regular price: $25.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An Englishman's continuing search through space and time for a decent cup of tea Arthur Dent's accidental association with that wholly remarkable book, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, has not been entirely without incident. Arthur has traveled the length, breadth, and depth of known, and unknown, space. He has stumbled forward and backward through time. He has been blown up, reassembled, cruelly imprisoned, horribly released, and colorfully insulted more than is strictly necessary. And of course Arthur Dent has comprehensively failed to grasp the meaning of life, the universe, and everything.
Arthur has finally made it home to Earth, but that does not mean he has escaped his fate. Arthur's chances of getting his hands on a decent cuppa have evaporated rapidly, along with all the world's oceans. For no sooner has he touched down on the planet Earth than he finds out that it is about to be blown up...again.
And Another Thing... is the rather unexpected, but very welcome, sixth installment of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series. It features a pantheon of unemployed gods, everyone's favorite renegade Galactic President, a lovestruck green alien, an irritating computer, and at least one very large slab of cheese.
Life, the universe, and everything: listen to the rest of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series and related titles.
©2009 Eoin Colfer and Completely Unexpected Productions Ltd. (P)2009 Hyperion
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By John Williams on 10-15-09

A delightful return to the H2G2 Universe

To get the obvious out of the way, Eoin Colfer is not Douglas Adams. The writing style of this new book is not quite the same as the first 5. That being said it is very clear that Eoin was immersed in the original material and does a very credible tribute to the work of Douglas Adams. With Simon Jones reading it was at almost possible to forget that this book was not penned by Douglas himself.
Now on to the book itself, we start where Mostly Harmless left off; Earth is just about to end again. And Author is about to take off on a new trip around the universe with many of the old favorite characters either joining or making a cameo appearance.
Like the previous reviewer, my only complaint is that the book references the previous 5 books too often and in ways that does not flow well. I found myself often being broken out of the story with some far too unnecessary self reference. It is a odd sensation to be both slightly annoyed because I was jarred out of the flow, yet fondly remembering the original.
Overall, I would say if you are a fan of the original series by Douglas Adams, you will love this last revisit of universe where 42 means everything. If you are not familiar with Douglas Adams, what is wrong with you? Audible has nearly his complete works right here. Go listen The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and then come back to this book.
To Eoin Colfer fans, which is a group I count myself in. This is neither Artemis Fowl nor intended for a child audience. Do not purchase for your kids by mistake. On the other hand if like myself you read Eoin Colfer because despite his books being listed for kids, you find them witty, fun, and exciting, I think you will quite enjoy this new book, but I would still recommend that you listen to the original stories first.

Read More Hide me

46 of 47 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mike on 01-19-10


As the world's most rabid Douglas Adams fan, I was horrified to learn that Eoin Colfer had blasphemously been asked to extend the sacred Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy series. Thus, I went into this book with the most biased opinion imaginable, mostly to see just how bad of a cock-up it was going to be. Instead of finding the voluminous reasons to hate this novel which I fully expected, I discovered a wonderfully written, lovingly crafted story full of the same wit and charm we loved so much in Adams. Colfer has removed himself nearly entirely, channeling Adams from beyond the grave more perfectly than I would have assumed possible. The respect he has given to the author in doing so has not gone unnoticed by this reader. Well done sir. Very well done indeed.

Read More Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews