An Echo of Things to Come : The Licanius Trilogy

  • by James Islington
  • Narrated by Michael Kramer
  • Series: The Licanius Trilogy
  • 26 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the acclaimed Licanius Trilogy by James Islington.
In the wake of a devastating attack, an amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against the land of Andarra. As the Augur Davian and his new allies hurry north toward the ever-weakening Boundary, however, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.
His ally in the Capital, the new Northwarden, contends with assassins and politicians and uncovers a dangerous political secret. Meanwhile, their compatriot Asha begins a secret investigation into the disappearance of the Shadows.
And Caeden races against time to fulfill his treacherous bargain with the Lyth, but as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realize that the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Monumental disappointment

19 hours of literary torture and 2 hours of an actual story. The story dragged and dragged. Most time was spent describing Kayden's memories is descriptive details. Details in memories that have no connection to the plot or story. Parts that needed further development failed to receive attention by the author. I predict that the next book would be rushed.
Read full review

- Margaret Campbell

Footnotes, please!

I adored the first book, and have been checking on Islington's website, waiting for this one to come out. And, no surprise, it's good. It was worth the wait, and probably worth the year or two wait until the third book.


But, wow, do I wish that Islington put just a little tiny bit of effort into exposition. This story spans thousands of years of history across many countries and peoples and hosts 7-10 point of view characters, and yet he spends very little time reminding us who is who and what is what. One of the things that makes this story great is just how many mysteries are nested inside of other mysteries. But it's next to impossible to know what's supposed to be a mystery and what's something that my poor forgetful mind forgot. A few throwaway sentences would have done wonders clear up many questions: what's a Dargathan? What's a shateth? Where's talen gol? Etc, etc.

I'd whole heartedly recommend this series, but I'd tell people to wait until the third book is out, and read them all in one go. Anything else is a little painful. Great story, but painful.
Read full review

- Joe B.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-22-2017
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing