Alvin Journeyman : Tales of Alvin Maker

  • by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by Blackstone Audio
  • Series: Tales of Alvin Maker
  • 15 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alvin is a Maker, the first to be born in a century. Now a grown man and a journeyman smith, Alvin has returned to his family in the town of Vigor Church. He will share in their isolation, work as a blacksmith, and try to teach anyone who wishes to learn the knack of being a Maker. For Alvin has had a vision of the Crystal City he will build, and he knows that he cannot build it alone. But he has left behind, in Hatrack River, true friends as well as enemies. And his ancient foe, the Unmaker, whose cruel whispers and deadly plots have threatened Alvin's life at every turn, has found new hands to do his work of destruction.


What the Critics Say

"The best fantasy series now in progress." (Publishers Weekly)
"This superb and welcome book continues the saga at the same high level as before....[The Tales of Alvin Maker] promises to be [Card's] most notable creation." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Every Time

I've listened to this book (actually the whole series) multiple times. Card is a great writer and the voices are awesome. The Alvin Maker series is one great series worth listening to over and over.
Read full review

- curtismchale

Great series, but Orson tends to get long winded

I just finished Journeyman in this undeniably beuatiful series, but at several places in the book I got itchy and irritated. Orson Scott Card tends to weave more and more pious-sounding religious undertones into the story and, at least to my taste, diverges from his narrrative at several very suspenseful places to long-winded, not really interesting explanations, philosophical analyses and what have you. This is not to say you should stop reading the series, just that I often thought: man, get ON with it!
Nevertheless: a story that captures you.
Read full review

- Sophie Smeenk

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2007
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.