Already Dead : Joe Pitt

  • by Charlie Huston
  • Narrated by Scott Brick
  • Series: Joe Pitt
  • 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the Battery to the Bronx, Manhattan is crawling with Vampyres. Joe Pitt is one of them, and he's not happy about it. Yeah, he gets to be tough as nails and hard to kill. But spending his nights trying to score a pint of blood to feed the Vyrus that's eating at him isn't his idea of a good time.Now some fool who got himself infected with a flesh-eating bacteria is lurching around, trying to munch on folks' brains. Joe hates shamblers, but he's still the one who has to deal with them. It ain't easy going his own way, refusing to ally with the Clans that run the undead underside of Manhattan.But it's worse once he gets mixed up with the Coalition and finds himself searching for a little rich girl who's gone missing. Now anarchist Vampyres are pushing him around, a crazy cult is stalking him, and Joe's got to find that girl and kill that shambler before the sun comes up.


What the Critics Say

"An irresistible and fiendishly original take on the vampire myth....Huston has fun playing with the conventions of the genre, creating his own hip update that will appeal to fans of Quentin Tarantino and Buffy the Vampire Slayer alike." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A suprisingly good novel

Read a lot of disappointing Vampire novels lately? Me too.. This was received well by critics so I gave the story a shot, and it was Good!! Ok, so the cover art is ugly and not much to look at - but like they say "dont' judge a book by its cover".

It's a gritty story with Noir pop style and a certain masculine flair. This is a far cry from the bodice ripper, fantasy sex, Vampire Stories with lame action and dialogue that grates on the ear. I haven't had this much fun in a different way of looking at supernatural creatures since George R.R. Martin's Lycanthrope story "Skin Trade"

As an added bonus the producer of this audio book got a solid, talented narrator who you've probably heard a lot of. Fire up the sample listen. If you've been listening a long time to novels, you'll recognize him.

So listen up and give it a try - with any luck you'll like it as much as I did. If we're luckier, someday maybe the author will write a few more like this.
Read full review

- David "Artist living & working in the SF Bay Area"

A Pleasant Surprise

I bought this audiobook looking for something different. Before starting the book, I scanned through the most recent reviews, which were unflattering, so I began listening with diminished expectations.

I was surpised at how much I liked this book right from the beginning. I know some that some reviewers didn't care at all for the narrator, but I thought Scott Brick did an excellent job. His voice is very distinct, and colors the text, so I can understand how some listeners might disagree with me.

I will definitely be reading the next installment in this series.
Read full review

- Flavius

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.