After America : Disappearance Trilogy

  • by John Birmingham
  • Narrated by Kevin Foley
  • Series: Disappearance Trilogy
  • 20 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

March 14, 2003, was the day the world changed forever. A wave of energy slammed into North America and devastated the continent. The U.S. military, poised to invade Baghdad, was left without a commander in chief. Global order spiraled into chaos. Now, three years later, a skeleton U.S. government headquartered in Seattle directs the reconstruction of an entire nation - and the battle for New York City has begun.
Pirates and foreign militias are swarming the East Coast, taking everything they can. The president comes to the Declared Security Zone of New York and barely survives the visit. The enemy - whoever they are - controls Manhattan's concrete canyons and the abandoned flatlands of Long Island. The U.S. military, struggling with sketchy communications and a lack of supplies, is mired in a nightmare of urban combat.
Caught up in the violence is a Polish-born sergeant who watches the carnage through the eyes of an intellectual and with the heart of a warrior. Two smugglers, the highborn Lady Julianne Balwyn and her brawny partner, Rhino, search for a treasure whose key lies inside an Upper East Side Manhattan apartment.
Thousands of miles away, a rogue general leads the secession of Texas and a brutal campaign against immigrants, while Miguel Pieraro, a Mexican-born rancher, fights back. And in England, a U.S. special ops agent is called into a violent shadow war against an enemy that has come after her and her family.
The president is a stranger to the military mindset, but now this mild-mannered city engineer from the Pacific Northwest needs to make a soldier's choice. With New York clutched in the grip of thousands of heavily armed predators, is an all-out attack on the city the only way to save it?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great multi faceted story

Great multi faceted story but no ending for any of the characters. Seemed like th last chapter was missing, I double checked but no .... it just wasn't there. Sad
Read full review

- gaildaly

Note to Audio Publisher

I purchased the first Audio Book in this series, Without Warning, and really enjoyed it. I gave that Audio Book 4.5 Stars. What really made that Audio Book in addition to the good writing was the Narrator Tom Weiner. He made that Audio Book. He painted this picture in my head composed of these different characters and voices. I enjoyed the new book, but the narrator and the audio just didn't compare to the first. They didn't feel like the same characters, and in my opinion took away from my enjoyment. If there is going to be third book in series, go with your original narrator, PLEASE.
Read full review

- Edward

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2010
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio